Vidarbha-Karnataka Ranji Trophy match heads for a draw

PTI| Updated: Nov 23, 2013, 20:08 PM IST

Nagpur: With the match heading towards a tame draw, both Vidarbha and Karnataka look to fight it out to take the first innings lead, as the third and penultimate day today ended with the two teams sharing honours in their Group A Ranji Trophy match here.

In reply to Vidarbha`s 542, Karnataka reached 252 for two in their first innings at the close of play. The visitors now trail the hosts by 290 runs with eight wickets in hand here at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Jamtha.

Starting the day on 457 for six, Vidarbha lost overnight batsman -- skipper Shalabh Shrivastava -- early with the addition of just six runs to his last night`s score of 187.

Shrivastava blasted 22 boundaries during his 193-run knock off 488 balls, besides adding 103 runs for the seventh wicket with the other overnight batsman Sumit Ruikar (67).

Important contributions from tailenders Amol Jungade (15) and Umesh Yadav (34) ensured that the hosts cross the 550-run mark.

HS Sharath of Karnataka was the pick of the bowlers with four for 104.

Karnataka got off to a great start in reply to Vidarbha`s massive total, with Robin Uthappa (86) and Mayank Agarwal (71) putting on 124 runs for the opening wicket.

At stumps, Lokesh Rahul was unbeaten on 59 and giving him company at the other end was Manish Pandey on 21. The duo has already added an unbeaten 49 runs for the third wicket.

Brief scores:

Vidarbha 1st innings: 542 all out (Shalabh Shrivastava 193, Faiz Fazal 147, Sumit Ruikar 67; HS Sharath 4/104).

Karnataka 1st innings: 252 for two (Robin Uthappa 86, Mayank Agarwal 71; Akshay Wakhare 1/36).