Record number of teams to participate in T20 Mahasangram

Dharamsala: BJP MP cum president of Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association (HPCA), Anurag Thakur will inaugurate the JP Twenty20 Mahasangram season II in five different towns in the state on Monday.

He will start the programme in Kalpa near Kinour tha, then move to Kullu, before inaugurating in Dharamsala, Amtar(Hamirpur) and Bilaspur.

The most striking feature of the tournament is that 1342 teams have already been registered for the event till now.

It is estimated that there will be 18,000 players participating in this T20 tournament.

Guinness Book of World Records have certified it as a big tournament and the certificate shall be given on completion only, said Sanjay Sharma, PRO HPCA.

The season II of the tournament will be registered in the Guinness Book of World Record for the most number of teams participating in a single cricket tournament.

Over 1,100 teams had participated in the inaugural edition.