Regan’s ton in vain as Goa suffers second defeat

Margao: An unbeaten century by Regan Pinto went in vain as hosts Goa suffered their second consecutive defeat, losing by six wickets to Tamil Nadu in the South Zone U-19 Vinoo Mankad Trophy at the Nehru Stadium here today.

V Ganga Shridar took charge for Tamil Nadu with a half-century as they chased down the target of 198 with 13 balls to spare.

Earlier, electing to bat, Goa failed to put up a fighting total as they managed just 197 runs for the loss of eight wickets in their allotted 50 overs.

Pinto batted patiently to remain unbeaten at 102, with the help of eight fours, even as wickets fell at the other end at regular intervals. Other notable contributors were opener Amogh Dessai (25) and Darshan Misal (37).

For Tamil Nadu, Mohammed, Nirmal Pereswamy and Baharat K claimed two wickets each, while Ashwin Karat and Aprajit shared a wicket apiece.

Shridar played a sheet anchor role to be the top scorer for his team with 74 runs and shared a second wicket partnership of 129 runs with Aprajit R N, who made 45.

He then shared a 43 runs partnership with Inderjit (25 not out) for the fourth wicket, before he was caught by Amogh off Darshan Misal.

Shridhar’s knock was studded with six fours and two sixes.

For Goa, Sayyed Badiuzzama, Darshan Misal, Ganeshraj Narvekar and Keenan Vaz took one wicket each.

Tamil Nadu, who defeated Kerala in their opening match, now have nine points from two matches while Goa, who lost to Karnataka by 65 runs yesterday -1 point to their credit.

In an other match at the Porvorim Academy ground, fine bowling by R G More and J Suchit who claimed three wickets each guided Karnataka an easy seven wicket victory over Andhra Pradesh for their second successive win.

Batting first, Andhra found the going tough and collapsed like a pack of cards to be all out for a paltry 87 in 37.2 overs. Only Chirla was able to cross the double figure mark as he made 24.

Karnataka’s RG More and J Suchit claimed three wickets each.

In reply, Karnataka, overhauled the target in just 18.2 overs.

Sashandra K was the main contributor scoring 41 runs, while Shreyas (18) and R Samarth (13) helped in completing the formalities.

SM Basu was the most successful bowler for Andhra Pradesh, taking two wickets.

Karnataka, who collected five points including a bonus point yesterday, have now taken their tally to 10 points from two matches.

Meanwhile, Andhra Pradesh who defeated Hyderabad yesterday by 88 runs have four points from two matches.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link