Saurashtra 254 for six against Bengal on day one

Rajkot: Shitanshu Kotak made 71 while Rahul Dave remained unbeaten on 66 to help Saurashtra reach 254 for six at stumps on the opening day of their Ranji Trophy Super League Group A match here on Wednesday.

Apart from Kotak and Dave, opener Sager Jogiyani (52), Kamlesh Makvana (34 not out) and Chirag Pathak (20) made useful contributions for Saurashtra.

For Bengal, right-arm pacers Sourav Sarkar (2/59) and Ashok Dinda (2/53) scalped two wickets apiece while Ranadeb Bose and off-spinner Saurashish (1/33) accounted two victims each.

Earlier opting to bat, Saurashtra witnessed a shaky start to their innings, losing Pathak and Bhushan Chauhan within the 50-run mark.

But Jogiyani and Kotak steadied the ship with a handy 63-run third wicket stand before two quick wickets halted the home team’s march.

Jogiyani was the first to depart, caught by Anustup Majumdar off Lahiri and then skipper Jaydev Shah followed suit with a two-ball duck.

But then came another face-saving partnership from Saurasthra -- a 60-run stand between Kotak and Dave – before Bengal once again bounced back into the match with two quick wickets.

After all the hard work, Kotak threw his wicket away giving a straight forward catch to Writam Porel off Dinda at the team score of 167 and two runs later Pruthvipal Solanki also returned without disturbing the scorers, sneaking one to Sreevats Goswami behind the stumps off Dinda.

Kotak hit 11 boundaries en route his 118-ball innings.

Dave and Makvana then ensured that there was no further damage to Saurashtra innings, stitching an unbeaten 85-run stand for the seventh wicket to take hosts beyond the 250-mark.

Both Dave and Makwana displayed tremendous resolute as they negotiated as many as 37.3 overs en route their unbeaten 85-run partnership.

While Dave’s unconquered 66 came off 184 deliveries during which he struck seven fours, Makvana faced 114 balls to score 34 runs.

Brief Scores:
Saurashtra 1st innins: 254 for six in 90 overs (Shitanshu Kotak 71, Rahul Dave 66 not out, Sagar Jogiyani 52; Sourav Sarkar 2/59. Ashok Dinda 2/53).


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link