Shah to lead Saurashtra in absence of Pujara

Rajkot: Saurashtra will face an uphill task this season when they start their Ranji Trophy campaign from November 1 against formidable Mumbai side without their prolific batsman Cheteshwar Pujara.

Saurashtra Cricket Association (SCA) secretary Niranjan Shah announced the 15-member squad for first two matches to be played against Mumbai in Mumbai and Gujarat in Ahmedabad.

Jaydev Shah has been retained as the skipper while Jaydev Unadkat is the only new face in the squad.

Unadkat, who was selected for the second Test against Australia, has not yet played in Ranji Trophy and he is all set to make his debut against Mumbai.

Saurashtra has been doing well since winning the Plate group in 2005-06 Ranji season. The team also reached the semifinals for two consecutive years in Elite division, riding on solid performances of Pujara and Ravindra Jadeja.

However, Saurashtra will miss the services of Pujara for first two matches this season as he has been selected for India`s Test series against New Zealand.

Jadeja will also miss last couple of matches when ODI series begins.

The squad: Jaydev Shah (capt), Sitanshu Kotak, Ravindra Jadeja, Chirag Pathak, Sagar Jogiyani (wk), Arpit Vasavada, Pratik Mehta, Rakesh Dhruv, Kamlesh Makwana, Sandip Jobanputra, Sandip Maniar, Jaydev Unadkat, Jayesh Odedara. Coach-Debu Mitra.