Stuart Binny`s all-round show helps Karnataka beat Goa

Chennai: Former Indian pacer Roger Binny`s son Stuart Binny`s fine all-round show helped Karnataka beat Goa by 40 runs on the opening day of the South Zone Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy T20 tournament on Sunday.

After making a 25-ball 49 (4x4; 3x6), Binny capped off the day in style grabbing four wickets for 14 runs.

Binny`s knock and the 72-run third-wicket stand between Ganesh Satish (38) and Manish Pandey (49 off 36 balls) saw Karnataka make 170 for eight in 20 overs. They then restricted Goa to 130 for nine.

In other matches, last year`s runners-up Kerala, powered by a 42-ball 49 by VA Jagadeesh, beat Hyderabad by three wickets and Tamil Nadu routed Andhra by 84 runs.

Hyderabad were restricted to 119 for seven with Ahmed Quadri (50, 52b, 1x6, 4x4) playing a lone hand. Kerala reached the target in the last ball as Jagadeesh held the innings together with his 49.

Tamil Nadu, thanks to an opening partnership of 96 runs off 65 balls between Srikkanth Anirudha (50 off 34b; 4x4, 3x6) and Murali Vijay (60 off 38b; 5x4, 3x6), piled up 170 for eight. Dinesh Karthik chipped in with 42 off 24 balls.
Left-arm spinner SH Srinivas (4 for 27) did a fine job for Andhra but their batsmen flopped as the team was restricted to 88 for nine.

Brief scores:

Tamil Nadu 172 for 8 in 20 overs (Srikkanth Anirudha 50, Murali Vijay 60, Dinesh Karthik 42, SH Srinivas 4 for 27) beat Andhra 88 for 9 in 20 overs (Abhinav Mukund 2 for 16, Ganapathy Chandrasekar 3 for 16, Sunny Kumar Singh 2 for 7).

Points: Tamil Nadu 4, Andhra 0.

Karnataka 170 for 8 in 20 overs (Ganesh Sathish 38, Manish Pandey 49, Stuart Binny 49, Saurabh Bandekar 4 for 42, Robin D`Souza 2 for 30) beat Goa 130 for 9 in 20 overs (Sagun Kamat 32, Saurabh Bandekar 24, Stuart Binny 4 for 14, Raajoo Bhatkal 2 for 22).

Points: Karnataka 4, Goa 0.

Hyderabad 119 for 7 in 20 overs (Ahmed Quadri 50, Ashish Reddy 27 not out, Prasanth Parameswaran 2 for 13) lost to Kerala 120 for 7 in 20 overs (VA Jagadeesh 49, Rohan Prem 24, Robert Fernandez 25, Anwar Khan 2 for 12).

Points: Kerala 4, Hyderabad 0.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link