Dwayne Bravo to lead West Indies in Champions Trophy

Updated: May 05, 2013, 09:53 AM IST

Zeenews Media Bureau

St. John`s (Antigua and Barbuda): Dwayne Bravowill lead West Indies in the ICC Champions Trophy, the West Indies Cricket Board announced on Saturday.

The 29-year-old allrounder will replace Darren Sammy as the captain of the team.

"Our results in Tests and T20s have been showing consistent improvement and Sammy deserves every kudos for the work he has done in leading and moulding the team in these formats," Clyde Butts, chairman of the selection panel, was quoted as saying by a news agency.

"However our ODI results have not been as strong and we believe that it is best that we freshen the leadership of the team in this format,” he was quoted as saying.

Justifying the decision to replace Sammy, who lead West Indies to T20 World Cup triumph last year, Butts said that Bravo has enough experience to lead the side in the high-profile tournament to be played in England from June 6.

"Dwayne Bravo is an experienced, seasoned and senior cricketer who has demonstrated leadership qualities," he said.

Bravo expressed happiness on being handed the reins of the limited over side saying he felt honoured to have been given the task.

"To be named captain of the West Indies is one of the highest honours and I am truly humbled to have been appointed to this most prestigious position," he was quoted as saying.

West Indies: Dwayne Bravo (c), Denesh Ramdin (wk), Tino Best, Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Devon Smith.