England prefer Kieswetter to Prior in one-day squad

London: England selected Craig Kieswetter instead of Matt Prior on Thursday in a one-day squad captained by the returning Andrew Strauss for next week`s match against Scotland and the series which follows against Australia.

South African-born wicketkeeper-batsman Kieswetter, who completed his four-year qualification process in February, was in explosive form in England`s recent Twenty20 World Cup triumph.

"Craig Kieswetter made a century in only his third one-day international on the tour of Bangladesh and continued to impress during the World T20 tournament in the Caribbean," said national selector Geoff Miller in a statement.

"He has been earmarked for a role at the top of the order and I am sure he will be relishing the opportunity to test himself against high quality opposition."

The Somerset youngster comes in at the expense of test keeper Prior, who played alongside him against Bangladesh in March, for the first time in the 50-over form of the game.

No Lumb

Hampshire batsman Michael Lumb, Kieswetter`s opening partner in the World Twenty20, was not included in the 13-man squad and nor was Alastair Cook.

Strauss returns, along with Lancashire pace bowler James Anderson, after both were rested for the tour of Bangladesh.

Warwickshire batsman Ian Bell and Sussex all-rounder Michael Yardy were also recalled to a squad featuring 11 players from England`s Twenty20 campaign.

"Michael Yardy`s inclusion is a reward for performing consistently to a high level in the World T20 in the Caribbean and also reflects our longer term planning for a World Cup in the Indian sub-continent next year in which spin bowling will be a major feature," said Miller.

"We have named a slightly smaller squad for this summer`s NatWest Series than in previous years as our own programme closely mirrors the England Lions schedule for their triangular series against India `A` and West Indies `A`.

"We will draw on additional players from the Lions squad if required and will also consider using the Lions programme to give non-playing members of the one-day squad match practice where appropriate."

England play Scotland in Edinburgh on June 19 before facing Australia in a five-match series, starting in Southampton on June 22.

Andrew Strauss (captain), James Anderson, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Paul Collingwood, Craig Kieswetter (wicketkeeper), Eoin Morgan, Kevin Pietersen, Ryan Sidebottom, Graeme Swann, Luke Wright, Michael Yardy.

Bureau Report


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link