Former LTTE hub finds place in Sri Lanka Premier League

Updated: May 12, 2011, 15:03 PM IST

Colombo: Sri lanka`s northern province, which was known for being the hub of LTTE, is set to find representation in the island nation`s version of the Indian Premier League with a team called Oryxes.

Basnahira Western Province Bears, Kandurata Hill Country Kites, Nagenahira East Nagas, Ruhunu South Rhinos, Uthuru North Oryxes, Uva South Western Unicorns and Wayamba North Western Wolves are the franchises in the inaugural Sri Lanka Premier League which will be played between July 19 and August 4 at the Premadasa stadium here.

"Twenty20s massive popularity and status as the most exciting and entertaining format of cricket will be further enhanced by this newest tournament to the world of cricket", Sri Lanka Cricket said in a statement.

Each franchise is limited to five overseas players of whom only four can make it to the final eleven. An under-21 player must be picked among the seven local players.

The tournament is set to feature Shahid Afridi, who is billed to captain one of the teams, along with compatriots Misbah-ul-Haq, Shoaib Akhtar, Umar Gul and Umar Akmal.