Ian Healy`s son Tom in Australia U-19 touring party for Sri Lanka

Melbourne: Former Australia wicketkeeper Ian Healy`s son Tom, also a wicketkeeper-batsman, has been included in the 15-member Australian U-19 squad to tour Sri Lanka next month, Cricket Australia’s (CA) Youth Selection Panel announced here Monday.

The squad also includes 2014 U-17 National Championship player of the tournament Jake Winter, and 2014 U-17 Championship leading wicket-taker Kyle Scrimegour, who also scored 200 not out during that tournament. The squad will play Sri Lanka’s U-19 squad across five one-day matches and one three-day match in Colombo.

CA national talent manager Greg Chappell said this tour to Sri Lanka will be the first time some of the youngsters will be exposed to sub-continental conditions and will be a great learning opportunity.

"This squad fields a number of promising spinners including Sam Grimwade, Matthew Kuhnemann and Jonte Pattison, who will have the opportunity to hone their bowling on the spin-friendly tracks, as well as the chance to work alongside Cricket Australia`s spin consultant John Davison. The fast-bowling contingent is also an exciting one, with Lain Beckett, Izaac Boylan, David Grant and Jhye Richardson evident of the depth of Australia`s young quick stocks," said Chappell.

"Our two wicketkeeper/batsmen have both shown their match-breaking potential during the U17 Championships. Tom Healy is a classy stroke-maker in the mould of his father Ian, and Sam Harper has impressed as captain for Victoria.

"We`ve selected a strong batting line-up, with the likes of Liam Banthorpe, Patrick McKenna, Matthew Renshaw, and all-rounders Kyle Scrimegour and Clint Hinchliffe who will benefit from playing against quality opposition on turning decks," Chappell said.

The squad will be coached by CA`s high performance coach Graeme Hick and John Davison, CA`s spin coach, will be assistant coach. Davison spent time in June working with Nathan Lyon, Muthiah Muralidaran and a group of young development players in Sri Lanka as part of the National Cricket Centre Spin Program.

The team will assemble in Brisbane, Sep 20 and will depart for Colombo the following day.

The squad: Liam Banthorpe, Lain Beckett, Izaac Boylan, David Grant, Sam Grimwade, Sam Harper, Tom Healy, Clint Hinchliffe, Matthew Kuhnemann, Patrick McKenna, Jonte Pattison, Matthew Renshaw, Jhye Richardson, Kyle Scrimegour, Jake Winter


Sep 25: 1st One Day match, Sinhalese Sports Club

Sep 27: 2nd One Day match, R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium

Sep 29: 3rd One Day match, Tamil Union Cricket and Athletic CC

Oct 1: 4th One Day match, Colombo Cricket Club

Oct 3: 5th One Day match, Nondescript Cricket Club

Oct 7-9: Three-day match, Colombo Colts Cricket Club

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link