ICC adds Swann in Cricketer of Year Award

Dubai: International Cricket Council today added England off-spinner Graeme Swann’s name in the list of players for ICC Cricketer of the Year Award after it committed a goof-up while announcing the nominations on Wednesday.

With Swann’s inclusion the number of players nominated for the Cricketer of the Year Award now stands at 17.

The list includes among others three Indians in Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag and Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Other top players in the list include South African Jacques Kallis, Australian captain Ricky Ponting and Sri Lankan skipper Kumar Sangakkara.

The ICC Awards ceremony will be held on October 6 in Bangalore.

Clive Lloyd, who headed the selection panel, which included former international players Angus Fraser of England, Matthew Hayden of Australia, Ravi Shastri of India and Zimbabwe’s Duncan Fletcher, apologised for the “oversight”.

“It was a genuine oversight on the part of the committee as Graeme fully deserved to be nominated in this category.

Graeme, during the voting period, produced some very strong performances which puts him alongside the other top performers. On behalf of the selection panel, I apologise for this oversight,” he said.

During the voting period, which was from August 24, 2009 to August 10, 2010, Swann took 49 wickets, including six five-wicket hauls in an innings and one 10-wicket haul in a match.

The 31-year-old, who was also a member of England’s Twenty20 World Cup winning squad, also took 28 ODIs wickets at an average of 23.28 with an economy rate of 4.46 during the qualification period.

The seventh annual LG ICC Awards, to be presented in association with the Federation of International Cricketers’ Associations (FICA), includes nine individual prizes and also features the selection of the Test and ODI Teams of the Year.

There will also be an award for the side that has adhered most to the Spirit of Cricket.

For the first time, this year’s awards feature a new category, the People’s Choice Award, which will be chosen by cricket fans around the world who will vote online from a short-list of five cricketers selected by the ICC selection panel.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link