ICC calls on fans to remember greatest players of all time

Dubai: To mark the 2,000th Test match, which will take place between England and India at Lord`s from 21 to 25 July, the ICC has called on supporters from across the globe to select their greatest team of all time.

"With the 2,000th Test coming up it is appropriate to remember some of the great players through the ages that have thrilled audiences and inspired us all," said ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat.

"With so many legends of the game to choose from, it is a very difficult task and I`m sure one that will lead to plenty of fond recollection and great debate," Lorgat added in a statement.

Fans will have time until July 13 midnight to make their selections, with the lists to be announced a week before the Lord`s Test.

"Test cricket is the pinnacle format of our great sport and it is important we continue to protect and promote it so that it grows even stronger over the next 2,000 matches," he said.

List of players that fans are being asked to vote on:

Opening batsmen(two): Geoffrey Boycott, Sunil Gavaskar, Gordon Greenidge, Desmond Haynes, Jack Hobbs, Len Hutton, Hanif Mohammad, Virender Sehwag, Herbert Sutcliffe, Victor Trumper.

Middle-order batsmen (three): Don Bradman, Greg Chappell, Wally Hammond, George Headley, Brian Lara, Javed Miandad, Graeme Pollock, Ricky Ponting, Viv Richards, Sachin Tendulkar.

All-rounder (one): Ian Botham, Kapil Dev, Aubrey Faulkner, Richard Hadlee, Jacques Kallis, Imran Khan, Keith Miller, Wilfred Rhodes, Gary Sobers, Frank Worrell.

Wicketkeeper (one): Les Ames, Mark Boucher, Jeff Dujon, Godfrey Evans, Andy Flower, Adam Gilchrist, Alan Knott, Rod Marsh, Clyde Walcott, Wasim Bari.

Fast bowlers (three): Curtley Ambrose, Sydney Barnes, Michael Holding, Dennis Lillee, Ray Lindwall, Malcolm Marshall, Glenn McGrath, Fred Trueman, Courtney Walsh, Wasim Akram.

Spinner (one): Bishen Singh Bedi, Richie Benaud, Lance Gibbs, Clarrie Grimmett, Jim Laker, Anil Kumble, Muttiah Muralidaran, Bill O`Reilly, Derek Underwood, Shane Warne.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link