Windies keeper Ramdin banned for two CT matches over `wrong catch` claim
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Tuesday, June 11, 2013, 10:36
  
Windies keeper Ramdin banned for two CT matches over `wrong catch` claimSydney: West Indies` wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin has been suspended for two one-day matches and was fined 100 percent of his match fee for wrongly claiming a catch in their ICC Champions Trophy opener against Pakistan.

Match referee Chris Broad charged Ramdin with violating the spirit of the game following a hearing in London after the wicket-keeper had pleaded not guilty to the offence.

In a statement released by the International Cricket Council ( ICC ), Broad said that Ramdin`s action is regarded as a serious offence as it is the responsibility of all players to act in the spirit of the game, adding that he hoped that Ramdin has learnt his lesson from this incident and that they will not see such behaviour by him or any player in the future.

In response to the suspension, a West Indies spokesman said that they will not appeal against Ramdin`s ban, adding that opener Johnson Charles would be behind the stumps against the upcoming match against India.

The suspension means that Ramdin will miss Tuesday`s match against India at the Oval and the last group game against South Africa in Cardiff on Friday.

The incident took place at the Oval, London, last Friday when Ramdin appeared to catch Pakistan captain Misbah-ul Haq off Kemar Roach before the batsman had opened his account.

Although Australian umpire Steve Davis gave Misbah out but replays showed that while Ramdin had initially, caught the ball, he subsequently allowed it to spill out of his grasp, after which, it was eventually decided that Ramdin did not have full control over the ball.

ANI

First Published: Tuesday, June 11, 2013, 10:36


comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular in News