ICC rules amended, batting side to choose a Powerplay

Updated: Sep 30, 2008, 13:35 PM IST

Zeecric Bureau

Dubai, Sept 30: ICC has brought about some crucial changes in its ODI rule book. One major amendment empowers the batting side to decide when to introduce either the second or the third Powerplay during their innings. The new rules will be implemented from October 1, with New Zealand and Bangladesh being the first teams to practice it.

Earlier, the bowling side could only decide when to introduce a Powerplay into a game.

The rules were changed in June when the ICC Chief Executives` Committee unanimously approved the new ones.

In yet another change, the bowling side can keep three fielders outside the 30-yard circle during the second and third Powerplay, as compared to the previous scenario where only two fielders were allowed.

Players taking frequent comfort breaks during the match have also been dealt with. According to the new set-up, substitute fielders will only be allowed in case of injury, illness or other wholly acceptable reasons, which will be limited to extreme circumstances.

The free-hit rule as well as the mandatory changing of the ball at the start of the 35th over of an innings has been, however, retained.

The interval rule, which was implemented in June, has also been retained. According to the rule, the umpires can reduce the length of time between innings in an ODI, if the innings of the side batting first is delayed or interrupted.

"In the event of time being lost [playing time lost less any extra time provided] up to and including 60 minutes in aggregate, the length of the interval shall be reduced from 45 to 30 minutes. In the event of more than 60 minutes being lost in aggregate, the duration of the interval shall be agreed mutually by the umpires and both captains subject to no interval being of more than 30 minutes` duration or less than 10 minutes` duration. In the event of disagreement, the length of the interval shall be determined by the match referee."

Umpires now have the liberty to consult the third umpire on whether or not a catch was taken cleanly. "Following such consultation, the final decision will be made and given by the bowler`s-end umpire. Should the bowler`s-end umpire still not be able to decide, a not-out decision shall be given."