Same format retained for 2016 World Twenty20 in India

Zee Media Bureau/Jayanta Oinam

Dubai: Following the success of 2014 ICC World Twenty20 in Bangladesh, the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Thursday announced that the same format will be used for the next edition too.

The 2016 ICC World Twenty20, to be held in India, will have a group stage to be competed by the qualified Associate teams along with the two lowest-ranked Test sides. Each winner from the two groups will play in the tournament proper, Super 10.

This year`s event witnessed Associate teams fighting for the two spots and by the end of the group stage, Netherlands had already pipped Zimbabwe in their pool to qualify for the Super 10. Bangladesh, who topped their group despite losing to another Associate team from Hong Kong, joined them in the next stage.

The media release elaborated that “the top eight Full Members on the ICC T20I Team Rankings as on 30 April 2014 will automatically qualify for the second round, while the ninth and 10th ranked Full Members will get automatic places in the first round. The six qualifiers will progress from the 14-team ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2015, which will be staged in Ireland and Scotland from 9 July to 2 August 2015 during which a total of 51 matches will be played.”

The world cricket body is holding their schedule quarterly meetings of 2014 at their headquarters in Dubai.

With agency inputs