close
This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

ICC World Cup: Is trophy sharing rule in case of a tie in final weird?

How would you feel if the forthcoming ICC World Cup trophy in Australia and New Zealand will be shared between two teams? And it's no joke, this is possible.

ICC World Cup: Is trophy sharing rule in case of a tie in final weird?

 New Delhi: How would you feel if the forthcoming ICC World Cup trophy in Australia and New Zealand will be shared between two teams? And it's no joke, this is possible.

According to the new rules made by International Cricket Council (ICC), if the final of the quadrennial event ends in a tie, then both the finalists will share the trophy.

And if that happens, then it would be the first time in the World Cup history that the prize and trophy will be distributed between two countries.

In 2011 World Cup, the rules were a bit different and in case of a tie, Super Over would have decided the winner. But this time around the rules would be a bit different.

A team has to win nine matches in the tournament to reach the final.

All the 14 participating countries have been divided in two groups – Group A and B.

The prestigious tournament will kick start from February 14 and the final will be played on March 29. 49 matches will be played throughout the marquee event.

Many cricket pundits and fans are critisizing the rule but a few are in favour of it as well.

But in such a crucial event, sharing of trophy in the final is something which would be hard to digest for the fans.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions