ICC World Twenty20: India to take on Pakistan on March 19 at Dharamsala

Other teams in India's group are Australia and New Zealand.

ICC World Twenty20: India to take on Pakistan on March 19 at Dharamsala

New Delhi: There may be no guarantees with regards to India's bilateral series against Pakistan, but fans can now be assured of Indo-Pak action during the ICC WT20 early next year. (READ:  Full Schedule of ICC World T20)

​India and Pakistan were drawn in the same group, as the tournament was launched in Mumbai on Friday.

ALSO READ: World T20: India-Pakistan tie promises to be a bumper affair in the hills

Other teams in India's group are Australia, New Zealand and Qualifier 1.

Group two has Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies, England, Qualifier 2

ALSO READ: VIDEO: Ajinkya Rahane reveals his favorite T20 batsman!

The Indo-Pak clash will take place on March 19 at HPCA's Dharamsala.

"We assure you that the 2016 ICC T20 World Cup will be bigger and better," said BCCI secretary Anurag Thakur at the event.

The women's semi-finals and final will be followed by the men's knock-out matches. There is a reserve day for the finals.

The men's event will carry a total prize money of USD 5.6 million, which is an 86 per cent increase from the 2014 tournament, while the total prize money for the women's event is USD 400,000, which is a 122 per cent increase from the Bangladesh event.

There have been five different winners of the men's event while the England women's team won the inaugural tournament at home in 2009 before Australia won three straight titles in the West Indies, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh in 2010, 2012 and 2014, respectively.

ALSO READ2016 ICC WT20: Five interesting facts about the tournament!

According to the men's event format, eight sides in two groups of four, will feature in the first round matches with the group winners joining eight sides in the Super 10 stage (two groups of five teams).

The top two sides from both the Super 10 Groups will then qualify for the semi-finals. In the women's event, the 10 sides will be divided into two groups and the top two sides from each group will progress to the semi-finals.

The first round matches in the men's event will take place in Dharamsala and Nagpur from March 8-13 and will feature Bangladesh, Netherlands, Ireland, debutant Oman (all in Group A), Zimbabwe, Scotland, Hong Kong and Afghanistan (all in Group B).

ALSO READ: We will have to ask for govt permission to play in ICC World T20 2016: Shahryar Khan

In a double-header on the opening day on March 8, Zimbabwe will face Hong Kong in the afternoon match, to be followed by the evening match between Scotland and Afghanistan. Both the matches will be played in Nagpur.

The group winners will join Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and host India in the Super 10 stage, which will be played alongside the women's event from March 15 to 28.

ALSO READT20 World Cup win in 2007 was launch of MS Dhoni the captain: Virat Kohli

Men's defending champion Sri Lanka have been placed in Super 10 Group 1 along with South Africa, West Indies, England and the Group B winner. They will open their title defence against the Group B winner in Kolkata on March 17, and play West Indies in Bengaluru on March 20, England in New Delhi on March 26 and South Africa in New Delhi on March 28.

Hosts India, which won the inaugural tournament in South Africa in 2007, are in Super 10 Group 2 along with 2009 winner Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand and the Group A winner.

ALSO READ: World T20 2016 will be bigger, better and more entertaining: Anurag Thakur

Pakistan will take on the Group A winners in Kolkata on March 16, before locking horns with India. Their remaining two matches will be in Mohali against New Zealand and Australia on March 22 and 25, respectively.

Meanwhile, in the women's tournament, 2009 champions England are in Group B along with the West Indies, India, Pakistan and Bangladesh, and will start off against Bangladesh in Bengaluru on 17 March. Their other matches will be against India (22 March in Dharamsala), West Indies (24 March in Dharamsala) and Pakistan (27 March in Chennai).

ALSO READ: ICC happy with Eden Gardens progress for 2016 World T20 finals

Australia women, who will be bidding to win the title for the fourth straight time, is in Group A along with South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Ireland. Their opening match will be against South Africa (18 March in Nagpur), followed by matches against New Zealand (21 March in Nagpur), Sri Lanka (24 March in New Delhi) and Ireland (24 March in New Delhi).

The ICC World Twenty20 trophy was also showcased at the ceremony before its departure to Scotland on December 13, as part of the Nissan Trophy Tour. The trophy will return to New Delhi on 1 February after visiting 11 countries.

(With Agency inputs)

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link