ICC World Twenty20 2016: Tamim Iqbal stars as Bangladesh beat Netherlands

Netherlands gave a tough fight to Asia Cup T20 finalists. 

ICC World Twenty20 2016: Tamim Iqbal stars as Bangladesh beat Netherlands

New Delhi: In the 3rd qualifier of the ICC World Twenty20, Bangladesh beat minnows Netherlands by eight wickets at HPCA Stadium, Dharamsala.

Tamim Iqbal's 83 off 58 balls was the highlighter of the match.  



After performing exceptionally well in the recently concluded Asia Cup T20, Bangladesh will be high on confidence against minnows Netherlands. Mashrafe Mortaza-led team has emerged as dangerous unit in limited-overs format since the end of 2014. In today's encounter Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Mustafizur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain and Taskin Ahmed would be their key players.

On the other hand, Netherlands have the likes of Stephan Myburgh, the Cooper brothers and a steady bowling attack, led by captain Peter Borren. Going  into the match, Netherlands can take heart from the fact that the Tigers have arrived slightly later than the Dutch in Dharamsala. For the records, Netherlands had beaten Bangladesh in T20I match in the past. 

Bangladesh Squad

Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Soumya Sarkar, Tamim Iqbal, Sabbir Rahman, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Mahmudullah, Arafat Sunny, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Mohammad Mithun, Abu Hider 

Netherlands Squad

Wesley Barresi (wk), Peter Borren (c), Ben Cooper, Tom Cooper, Michael Rippon, Roelof van der Merwe, Vivian Kingma, Timm van der Gugten, Stephan Myburgh, Mudassar Bukhari, Pieter Seelaar, Logan van Beek, Max O'Dowd, Ahsan Malik, Paul van Meekeren

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link