India to play 3 Tests, 7 ODIs and 2 T20s against South Africa

Updated: Apr 12, 2013, 20:31 PM IST

New Delhi: The Indian cricket team will play three Tests, seven One-day Internationals and two Twenty20 matches during their tour of South Africa, slated to start at the end of this year.

Cricket South Africa and the Indian Cricket Board were contemplating accommodating one more Test but things could not materialise as both boards decided to stick to ICC`s Futures Tour Programme (FTP)

The Indian team will be short on Test cricket when they take on the world number one side, playing the first longer-version game since the 4-0 whitewash of the Australians at home in March.

South Africa last played the format in February and will only meet Pakistan for two matches in the UAE before hosting India.

Durban, Cape Town, Johannesburg or Centurion could be the three possible venues for the Test series.

There is a possibility of the Boxing Day Test returning to Durban after it was cancelled previous season because CSA opted to play three festive T20s instead.

India drew their last Test series in South Africa 1-1 in 2010-11.