This ad will auto close in 10 seconds
Spinner Ashton Agar picked in Australia squad for fourth Test

Melbourne: Left-arm spinner Ashton Agar was added to the Australian squad for the fourth cricket Test against India starting on January 6 at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Agar joins the 13-man squad that regained the Commonwealth Bank Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2-0 following a draw in the Boxing Day Test at the Melbourne Cricket Ground here.

The Western Australia spinner made his Test debut against England at Trent Bridge in the first Test of the 2013 Ashes series.

The then 19-year-old entered the record books when he scored 98 batting at No.11 in the first innings, combining with the late Phillip Hughes for a world record final wicket stand of 163.

The SCG wicket, which is traditionally conducive to spin, will determine whether Australia will pick Agar and play two spinners.

"We'll see how the wicket is and go from there," said Australia captain Steve Smith.

Agar will give the national selectors another spin option at the SCG in addition to Nathan Lyon.

The squad is otherwise unchanged, with Mitch Marsh having been ruled out of the game.

Australia's squad for fourth Test: David Warner, Chris Rogers, Shane Watson, Steve Smith (capt), Shaun Marsh, Joe Burns, Brad Haddin, Mitchell Johnson, Ryan Harris, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc, Peter Siddle, Ashton Agar.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions