New Delhi: Sometimes in Cricket, there are some controversial decisions made by the on/off-filed umpires during the match. Similar situation was faced in the India-England match at Rajkot on 2016.
Virat Kolhi had used up all his tricks but still was not able to break the deadly looking partnership of Joe Root with Mooen Ali for the 4th wicket. So in the 80th over of the day, Kohli gave the ball to Umesh Yadav looking for the breakthrough.
On the 5th ball, Root pushed it softly towards Umesh, who caught it cleanly on the first attempt. In order to celebrate his wicket immediately, he threw the ball in air, which went over his head and fell behind him.
The right-handed batsman stood his ground thinking that Umesh didn't take the catch cleanly.
To consult the scenario, on field umpires Kumar Dharamasena and Chris Gaffaney went upstaris to third umpire Rod Tucker to confirm the decision, though soft signal was out. After couple of replays Rod decided to give it in India's favour.
WATCH the video here:
According to Law 32 (mode of dismissal: caught) of the cricket rule-book, “The act of making the catch shall start from the time when a fielder when a fielder first handles the ball and shall end when a fielder obtains complete control both over the ball and over his own movement”.
At one point of time, Ravichandran Ashwin's double strike sent England on the back foot but the partnership of 179 runs by Root-Mooen shifted the momentum back in the visitors' favour.