Indian Board President's XI v Australians, Day 1: As it happened...

Updated: Feb 12, 2013, 09:40 AM IST

Final Update: Australia 241 all out

Brief Score: Australia 241 all out (Matthew Wade 58, Steve Smith 41; Parvez Rassol 7/45, Sarbajit Ladda 2/90)

Board President XI’s spin allrounder Parvez Rassol took a stunning 7-wicket haul to wrap up the Australian innings for a below par 241 at stumps on the Day 1 of the warm-up match between the two team on Tuesday.

Rassol, a right arm off-spinner from Jammu & Kashmir, after taking three top-order wickets, ran through the Australian XI’s lower-order to dismiss them to 241 in 88.3 overs. Leg-spinner Sarabjit Ladda also chipped in with 3 wickets to ensure that Australia did not post a big total.

For Australia, acting skipper Matthew Wade was the highest scorer with 58.


8th Update: Australia 225/6

Board President XI’s spinners Parvez Rassol and Sarabjit Ladda took one more wicket each to send all the top Australian batsmen back to pavilion. Steve Smith was consumed by Rassol for 41 while Henriques' wicket was taken by Ladda for 16.

After 80 overs, Australia were 225/6. Peter Siddle and James Pattinson were unbeaten on 20 and 8, respectively.


7th Update: Australia 170/4

Parvez Rassol and Stuart Binny took a wicket apiece as Australia were reduced to 170/4 after 58 overs. Rassol got the wicket of Matthew Wade who made 35 while Glenn Maxwell was dismissed by Binny for a duck. Steve Smith was playing on 30 while Moises Henriques was on 1.


6th Update: Australia 164/2

Matthew Wade (34*) and Steve Smith (27*) were trying to build a solid platform for Australia as they put on an unbeaten 55 runs 3rd-wicket stand. After 50 overs Australia were 164/2. Indian pacers have struggled so far on the placid Chennai pitch. Both the wickets to fall so far went to the spinners.


5th Update: Australia 123/2

After the fall of two openers, wicket-keeper Matthew Wade and Steve Smith were trying to stabilise the innings. After 40 overs, Australia were 123/2. Matthew Wade 23*, Steven Smith 6*


4th Update: Australia 111/2

Australian opener Ed Cowen scored a fine half-century before being dismissed by J&K allrounder Parvez Rassol. He was caught by stumper Parthiv Patel behind the stumps. Cowen made 58 off 109 balls with 8 fours and a six. After 35 overs, Australians were 111/2.


3rd Update: Australia 77/1

Leg-spinner Sarabjit Ladda drew the first blood for the Board President's XI as he dismissed Usman Khawaja for 32. Khawaja's 73-ball knock was laced with 5 hits to the fence. Australia were 77/1 after 26 overs.


2nd Update: Australia 75/0

Australia have started really well as they scored 75 runs without any loss after 25 overs. Ed Cowen was playing on 37 off 81 balls while Usman Khawaja remained unbeaten on 31 off 70 balls. Stuart Binny and Jammu Kashmir allrounder Parvez Rasoon bowling in tandem for the Board President’s XI.


1st Update: Australia 27/0

After 10 overs, Australia were 27 for no loss. Ed Cowan and Usman Khawaja were bating on 8 and 14, respectively. For the Board President’s XI, Shami Ahmed and Parvinder Awana started the proceedings.



Australia won the toss and elected to bat against the Indian Board President`s XI in the two-day warm-up match that starts on Tuesday in Chennai.


Australian XI

EJM Cowan, UT Khawaja, MS Wade*†, GJ Maxwell, SPD Smith, MC Henriques, AC Agar, NM Lyon, PM Siddle, JL Pattinson, JM Bird

Indian Board President's XI team

A Mukund*, S Ladda, P Awana, STR Binny, KM Jadhav, Parvez Rassol, Mandeep Singh, RV Uthappa, PA Patel†, AT Rayudu, Shami Ahmed



Australian opener Ed Cowan, middle-order batsman Usman Khawaja and IPL`s million-dollar man Glenn Maxwell will be eyeing to get some batting practiceagainst the Board President`s XI.

In the absence of regular skipper Michael Clarke and his deputy Shane Watson, who will be arriving in the next couple of days, wicketkeeper-batsman Matthew Wade will be leading the side.

Since the full Australian squad is yet to assemble, the Aussies have exactly 11 players available right now and it will be the local association that will be providing them with substitute fielders.

Since the match is a two-day affair, it is unlikely to get first-class status. The youngsters in the Board President`s XI squad, led by opener Abhinav Mukund, which has in-form Ambati Rayudu, talented Punjab batsman Mandeep Singh, all-rounder Parveez Rasool along with latest pace sensation Shami Ahmed, will get quality exposure against a top international side.

Practically, this is the third string Indian side as the second string India `A` side, led by Gautam Gambhir, will be playing against Australia in the official first-class game from February 16.

While Rayudu, who is fresh from his hundred in the Irani Cup, will like to get a good score against quality fast bowlers like James Pattinson and Peter Siddle, the Aussie batsmen would pray that the likes of Cowan, Khawaja, Maxwell, Henriques get a chance to practice against spinners like offies Kamlesh and Rasool along with leg-spinner Sarabjit Ladda.


Australia: Matthew Wade (capt), Ed Cowan, Usman Khawaja, Glenn Maxwell, Moises Henriques, Steve Smith, Peter Siddle, James Pattinson, Nathan Lyon, Jackson Bird, Ashton Agar.

Board President`s XI: Abhinav Mukund (capt), Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Parthiv Patel, Stuart Binny, Sarabjit Ladda, Parvez Rassol, Shami Ahmed, Parvinder Awana, Kamlesh Makwana.