Indian Premier League: Martin Guptill, Usman Khawaja lead list of unsold players

Both Guptill and Khawaja are in supreme form with the bat.

Indian Premier League: Martin Guptill, Usman Khawaja lead list of unsold players

New Delhi: The Indian Premier League auctions were held on Saturday for the 2016 season and surprisingly several high-profile names were unsold.

Eight marquee players got the action underway in Bengaluru and out of them, New Zealand's Martin Guptill found no takers.

The 29-year-old dashing New Zealand batsman has been in omenous form with the bat and recently hit the second fastest fifty in ODI cricket. Guptill was expected to take the IPL auction by storm but surprisingly wasn't bought.

Interestingly Australia's in-form batsman Usman Khawaja was another surprise snub at the auctions. The star batsman who had been in sublime touch for Australia in the Test series, grew in confience after hitting big scores for Sydney Thunder in the Big Bash league.

Khawaja's omission comes as a big surprise and the batsman will feel hard one here.

Some of the known Indian players who missed the cut were Bengal's Ranji team duo of Manoj Tiwary and Pragyan Ojha.

Here is the complete list of unsold players.

Martin Guptill (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Rilee Rossouw (Base price Rs 1 crore)

Cheteshwar Pujara (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Hashim Amla (Base price Rs 1 crore)

George Bailey (Base price Rs 1 crore)

S Badrinath (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Mahela Jayawardene (Base price Rs 1.5 crores)

Michael Hussey (Base price Rs 2 crores)

Usman Khawaja (Base price Rs 1 crore)

Shane Dowrich (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Mushfiqur Rahim (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Johnson Charles (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Brad Haddin (Base price Rs 1.5 crores)

Morne van Wyk (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Ben Dunk (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Cameron Bancroft (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Manoj Tiwary (Base price Rs 1 crore)

Ravi Bopara (Base price Rs 1 crore)

Tillakaratne Dilshan (Base price Rs 1.5 crores)

Darren Sammy (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

James Pattinson (Base price Rs 1.5 crores)

Sachithra Senanayake (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Veerasammy Permaul (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Nathan Lyon (Base price Rs 1 crore)

Devendra Bishoo (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Michael Beer (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Ajantha Mendis (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Sulieman Benn (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Rahul Sharma (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Cameron Boyce (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Pragyan Ojha (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Joe Burns (Base price Rs 1 crore)

David Hussey (Base price Rs 1 crore)

Darren Bravo (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Adam Voges (Base price Rs 1 crore)

Nic Maddinson (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Owais Shah (Base price Rs 1 crore)

Abhinav Mukund (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Doug Bracewell (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Chris Jordan (Base price Rs 1 crore)

Wayne Parnell (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Grant Elliott (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

James Neesham (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Sean Abbott (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Abhishek Nayar (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Munaf Patel (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Beuran Hendricks (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Lahiru Thirimanne (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Richard Levi (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Cameron White (Base price Rs 1.5 crores)

Tamim Iqbal (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Marlon Samuels (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Dean Elgar (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Reeza Hendricks (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Nathan McCullum (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Jeevan Mendis (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Vernon Philander (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Rusty Theron (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Shehan Jayasuriya (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Rayad Emrit (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Anton Devcich (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Johan Botha (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Ashton Agar (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Robin Peterson (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Fidel Edwards (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Jerome Taylor (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Parvinder Awana (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Sudeep Tyagi (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Shaun Tait (Base price Rs 1.5 crores)

Pankaj Singh (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Nuwan Kulasekara (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Ben Laughlin (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Krishmar Santokie (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Isuru Udana (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Soumya Sarkar (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Dilruwan Perera (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Narsingh Deonarine (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Henry Davids (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Milinda Siriwardana (Base price Rs 30 lakh)

Dilshan Munaweera (Base price Rs 30 lakh)

Christopher Barnwell (Base price Rs 30 lakh)

Seekuge Prasanna (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

George Worker (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Dasun Shanaka (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Taskin Ahmed (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Shannon Gabriel (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Dushmantha Chameera (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Hardus Viljoen (Base price Rs 30 lakh)

Mthokozisi Shezi (Base price Rs 1 crore)

Tino Best (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Jackson Bird (Base price Rs 50 lakhs)

Mithun Manhas (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Ankit Bawne (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Himanshu Rana (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Debabrata Das (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Aiden Blizzard (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

CM Gautam (Base price Rs 20 lakhs)

Dishant Yagnik (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Manvinder Bisla (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Prasanth Padmanabhan (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Kevin O'Brien (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Kevin Cooper (Base price Rs 30 lakhs)

Cheepurupalli Stephen (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Dominic Joseph (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

VP Singh (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Harmeet Singh Bansal (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Aswin Crist (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Rahul Shukla (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Siddarth Trivedi (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

KK Jiyas (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Hardik P Patel (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Rahil S Shah (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Bhargav Bhatt (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Karanveer Singh (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Arun Karthik (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Evin Lewis (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Alex Ross (Base price Rs 20 lakhs)

Apoorv Wankhede (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Prasanth Gupta (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Syed Mohammed (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Rahul Tewatia (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Rohan Prem (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Dinesh Salunkhe (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Ravi Jangid (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Gurinder Singh (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Pankaj Jaiswal (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

Navdeep Saini (Base price Rs 10 lakhs)

The big deals of the day saw several marquee players find new teams. Australian all-rounder Shane Watson being bought for a whooping Rs 9.5 crore by the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Pawan Negi was the surprise big deal of the day after going to Delhi for a staggering Rs 8.5 cr.

Yuvraj Singh went to Sunrisers Hyderabad with Kevin Pietersen going to Rising Pune Supergiants. Whereas Indian bowlers Mohit Sharma and Ishant Sharma too were bought at a huge price.

The player pool at the auctions on Saturday was huge with 351. Out of those 230 were Indians.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link