India's tour of West Indies: Virat Kohli & Co bat first against WICB President's XI in first warm-up game

India were 31/0 after 12 overs with Rahul on 16 and Dhawan on 13.

Last Updated: Jul 09, 2016, 23:04 PM IST
India's tour of West Indies: Virat Kohli & Co bat first against WICB President's XI in first warm-up game

New Delhi: Indian cricket team officially started their 2016 West Indies with a two-day warm-up game against WICB President's XI at Warner Park, St Kitts on Saturday.

India Test captain Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bat first with openers Lokesh Rahul and Shikhar Dhawan providing a steady platform.

Dhawan (51) and Rahul (50) helped India reach 108 for no loss in 35 overs, half an hour after lunch on the first day.

Left-handed Dhawan looked compact as his 50 came off 88 balls with seven boundaries while Rahul looked equally comfortable during his half-century that took him 99 balls with five fours and six.

While Dhawan retired when India reached 93 for no loss at lunch, Rahul came out hit the first six off the innings and then with a single completed his milestone before being asked to comeback.

When last information was received, skipper Virat Kohli and Cheteshwar Pujara were batting on 0 and 1 respectively.

India opted to rest spin duo of Ravichandran Aswhin and Ravindra Jadeja as Amit Mishra got the nod. Mishra will share India's attack with pacers Mohd. Sami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav and Ishant Sharma.

Leon Johnson led the WICB President's XI side.

India will play two warm-up games against the President's XI before their four-Test series against West Indies.

The first Test starts on July 21 at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua.


West Indies Cricket Board President XI (Playing XI): Leon Johnson(c), Rajendra Chandrika, Shai Hope, Jermaine Blackwood, Peter Chase, Shane Dowrich(w), Vishaul Singh, Damion Jacobs, Jomel Warrican, Jason Dawes, M Mindley

India (Playing XI): Virat Kohli(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Amit Mishra, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar