Delhi Daredevils vs Chennai Super Kings: As it happened...

Zeenews Sports Bureau

Delhi: A superb allround performance by Delhi Daredevils helped them beat the defending Champions Chennai Super Kings by 8 wickets in a league match of the 5th edition of Indian Premier League on Tuesday.

Here are details of how the match panned out:

Delhi Innings:

11.7 pm Over 13.2: Delhi Daredevils beat defending champions Chennai Super Kings by 8 wickets. Kevin Pietersen remains unbeaten on 43 while Mahela Jayawardene was not out on 20.

Scorecard » I commentary »

11.5 pm Over 13: Two brutal fours down the line by Pietersen. 10 runs from Jakati’s over. DD 108/2. 4 need to win.

11 pm Over 12: Huge six by KP off Ashwin. DD 98/2.

10.55 pm Over 11: Another good over for Delhi. 10 runs from Jadeja’s over. DD 87/2.

10.55 pm Over 10: Jakati bowls a bad over, gives away 10 runs. DD 79/2.

10.50 pm Over 9: 5 runs from Bravo’s 1st over. DD 69/2.

10.47 pm Over 8: Pietersen hoicks one over the bowler’s head. Jadeja’s first over fetches 11 runs. DD 64/2.

10.44 pm Over 7: Three runs from left-armer Jakati’s over. DD 53/2.

10.40 pm Over 6: Sehwag departs off the last ball. His entertaining 33 came off 21 balls with 4 fours and a huge six. DD 50/2.

10.35 pm Over 5: Sehwag hits a four off the first ball from Bollinger. He hoicks another 6 off the 4th ball. 11 from this over. DD 44/1.

10.31 pm Over 4: Delhi Daredevils Opener Naman Ojha run-out for 14. R Ashwin gives away just 2 runs. DD 33/1.

10.25 pm Over 3: Sehwag hits two fours and a six off Morkel. DD 31/0.

10.20 pm Over 2: 7 runs from Bollinger’s over. DD 19/0.

10.15 pm Over 1: Delhi Daredevils start the chase in positive note. 12 runs from the first over bowled by Albie Morkel. DD 12/0.

Chennai Innings:

9.57 pm Over 20: As usual Ashwin runs himself out again!!! He scores 8. The last over the innings by Morne Morkel brings just 7 runs. CSK restricted to a below par 110/8.

9.53 pm Over 19: Umesh Yadav bowls Bravo out for 22. 9 runs from this over. CSK 103/7.

9.49 pm Over 18: Dhoni out for 11 off 18 balls. 5 runs from Morkel’s over. CSK 94/6.

9.44 pm Over 17: Nadeem bowls another good over, gives away 6 runs. CSK 89/5.

9.41 pm Over 16: Both the left-arm spinners bowling well in tandem. van der Merwe gives away only 3 runs. CSK 83/5. Strategic time out!

9.38 pm Over 15: Another good over by Nadeem. Just 2 runs. CSK 80/5.

9.35 pm Over 14: Five runs come from van der Merwe’s over. CSK 78/5.

9.30 pm Over 13: Just one run from left-arm spinner Nadeem. CSK 73/5.

9.26 pm Over 12: van der Merwe’s over fetches 4 runs. CSK 72/5.

9.24 pm Over 11: Ravindra Jadeja out 13. 2 runs from Bravo’s over. CSK 68/5.

9.19 pm Over 10: Badrinath run out for 15. Another mix-up. Skipper Dhoni joins in the middle. CSK 66/5.

9.14 pm Over 9: Badri hits a six. 10 runs from KP’s over. CSK 63/3.

9.10 pm Over 8: 6 runs from the over. CSK 53/3.

9.5 pm Over 7: Suresh Raina run out!! Terrible mix-up in the middle. 6 runs come from Kevin Pietersen’s over. CSK 47/3.

9 pm Over 6: Badrinath slashes over the 2nd slip for a four. Morkel’s 2nd over fetches 6 runs. CSK 41/2.

8.55 pmOver 5: Raina hits one over the rope off Yadav in the long leg region. 7 from the over. CSK 35/2.

8.50 pm Over 4: Morne Morkel strikes for DD in his first over. du Plessis out for 15 (12 balls, 3 fours). 4 runs from the over. CSK 28/2.

8.45 pm Over 3: du Plessis hit Pathan a four and a six. 14 runs from the over. CSK 24/1.

8.39 pm Over 2: 8 runs come from Umesh Yadav’s over. du Plessis slams last ball of the over for 4. CSK 12/1.

8.35 pm Over 1: Murali Vijay runs himself out for a duck off the very first ball of the over bowled by Irfan Pathan. Faf du Plessis hits the 1st four while Raina slams 6. Four runs from over. CSK 4/1.

8 pm: Delhi Daredevils captain Virender Sehwag won the toss and decided to field first against Chennai Super Kings on Tuesday.

Delhi get the boost as Kevin Pietersen and Mahela Jayawardene join them.

7.35 pm: The IPL league match between Delhi Daredevils and Chennai Super Kings at Feroz Shah Kotla gets delayed due to storm in Delhi. The match was scheduled to be started at 8 pm but looking at the weather, it is certain that the match won’t be starting before 8.30 pm.


Chennai Super Kings: M Vijay, F du Plessis, SK Raina, S Badrinath, RA Jadeja, MS Dhoni*†, DJ Bravo, JA Morkel, R Ashwin, SB Jakati, DE Bollinger

Delhi Daredevils: RE van der Merwe, V Sehwag*, NV Ojha†, Y Venugopal Rao, KP Pietersen, Y Nagar, IK Pathan, DPMD Jayawardene, M Morkel, UT Yadav, S Nadeem

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link