Former cricketers invited at IPL play-offs to collect cheques

New Delhi: Sixty five former cricketers, including legendary Sunil Gavaskar, have been invited by the BCCI for the IPL play-offs where they would be handed over the cheques as a part of Board`s one-time benefit payment.

The BCCI had recently announced that around 160 domestic and international cricketers who have retired before 2003-04 would be awarded cash bonanza as part of it`s one-time benefit scheme from the IPL surplus money, a gesture which would cost the Board Rs 70 crores.

The Board said in a release today that it was not possible to invite all the beneficiaries and those not invited would be sent cheques. Widows of four former cricketers have also been invited to collect cheques in Chennai on the day of the final match on May 27.

"Some of the beneficiaries have been invited to the DLF IPL 2012 Play-off venues. They will be presented their respective cheques before the start of the Play-off Matches. It is practically difficult to invite all the beneficiaries for the matches and hence, the others will be sent their cheques," BCCI President N Srinivasan was quoted as saying in the release.

Under the BCCI`s scheme, cricketers who have played more than 100 Test matches will get Rs 1.5 Crore while those who have played between 75 and 99 Tests will receive Rs one crore.

Those who have played between 50 and 74 Tests will get Rs 75 lakhs while those between 25 and 49 Tests will receive Rs 60 lakhs. Cricketers who have played between 10 and 24 Tests will be handed Rs 50 lakhs while those between one and nine Test matches and who have played their last international match before 1970 will get Rs 35 lakhs.

Cricketers who have played 100 and more first class matches will get Rs 30 lakhs while those who have played between 75 and 99 matches will receive Rs 25 lakhs.

The One-dayers played by the cricketers will be added with three ODIs being counted as one Test match. But for this, the cricketer will have to play at least one Test.

At final match in Chennai on May 27: Sunil Gavaskar, Ravi Shastri, S Venkataraghavan, Javagal Srinath, N S Sidhu, BS Chandrasekar, BS Bedi, FM Engineer, Shivlal Yadav, Abbas Ali Baig, Madhav Mantri, A G Milkha Singh, Rajinder Goel, Amarjeet Kaypee, S Hyder Ali, K Bhaskar Pillai, G Inderdev, M P Pandove, V Sivaramakrishnan.

Second Qualifier in Chennai on May 25: K Srikkanth, Madan Lal, Robin Singh, Chetan Chauhan, Salim Durani, L Sivaramakrishnan, WV Raman, Abey Kuruvilla , Chandrakant Pandit, V V Kumar, P Bhandhari, Kailash Gattani, L S Rajput, D Vasu, V B Chandrasekar, Sambaran Bannerjee.

At the Eliminator in Bangalore on May 23: Venkatesh Prasad, Roger Binny, Yashpal Sharma, E A S Prasanna, Rajesh Chauhan, Arun Lal, S Vishwanath, B S Sandhu, U N Kulkarni, Kawaljit Singh, Sudhakar Rao, MV Sridhar, Daljit Singh, Sanjeev Sharma, P Mhambrey.

At the first Qualifier in Pune on May 22: Chandu Borde, Sanjay Manjrekar, Nari Contractor, Ajit Wadekar, Anshuman Gaekwad, Bapu Nadkarni, Arshad Ayub, Madhav Apte, M R Rege, Srikanth Kalyani, P Shivalkar, T Arothe, Surendra Bhave, SS Sugvekar, Venkat Sundaram.

Widows of former cricketers: Mrs Nirupama Mankad, Mrs Eknath Solkar, Mrs Ramakant Desai, Mrs Kripal Singh.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link