IPL 2012: Delhi too good for Mumbai

Zeenews Sports Bureau

New Delhi: Delhi Daredevils demonstrated their might in all departments yet again as they trounced Mumbai Indians by 37 runs in an Indian Premier League match at the Feroz Shah Kotla on Friday.

Scorecard »

Captain Virender Sehwag shone with the bat scoring a 39-ball 73. He shared a scintillating 135-run opening stand with Mahela Jayawardene (55). This was Sehwag’s third consecutive half century in the tournament.

After their departure, Kevin Pietersen’s quickfire 50 in the end ensured Delhi went past 200 (second highest total of the season) and set a mammoth target for Mumbai Indians. Mumbai Indians’ faltered early on in their chase as they lost three quick wickets. They lost Blizzard in the third over. He was caught at cover by Jayawardene. Soon, Sachin Tendulkar (7) followed suit offering an easy catch to mid-off.

Ambati Rayudu (62 off 39) and Dinesh Karthik (40 off 28 balls) did their best to pull off a surprise win but Delhi bowlers proved too good for the youngsters. They accumulated 95 runs for the fourth wicket partnership.

In the end, Mumbai fell short of the target by a margin of 37 runs as they could manage only 170 runs with the loss 9 wickets in 20 overs.

For Delhi, Irfan Pathan, Shahbaz Nadeem and Umesh Yadav took two wickets each. However, Morne Morkel proved very economical in the match.

Teams (from):

Delhi Daredevils: Mahela Jayawardene, Virender Sehwag (c), Kevin Pietersen, Ross Taylor, Naman Ojha(w), Irfan Pathan, Yogesh Nagar, Morne Morkel, Ajit Agarkar, Umesh Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem.

Mumbai Indians: Aiden Blizzard, Sachin Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik (w), Kieron Pollard, Ambati Rayudu, Robin Peterson, Harbhajan Singh(c), Lasith Malinga, Rahul Shukla, RP Singh.