Zeenews logo
 Follow Me on Pinterest Google Plus Ditto RSS Mail to us Mail to us
Thursday, August 07, 2014 

IPL launches `Super Sixes` competition

Last Updated: Monday, April 16, 2012, 15:32
   Comments 0  

IPL launches `Super Sixes` competitionThe IPL has launched a new and exciting competition to identify the league`s longest hitter.

Whilst there have been 186 sixes struck in the 18 matches that have been played so far this season, hit from a wide variety of deliveries.

The Super Sixes challenge will feature a select number of big hitting players, as they showcase their power hitting skills against a standard delivery.

According to a media release issued by the IPL, the first of five of the Super Sixes challenges commenced in Kolkata on Sunday evening at Eden Gardens following the match between Kolkata Knight Riders and Kings XI Punjab.

It proved to be highly entertaining and showcased both local and international players. Yusuf Pathan of Kolkata Knight Riders hit one of his four deliveries a distance of 78 meters.

However, it was not long as Kings XI Punjab`s David Miller from South Africa, who favoured the conditions and hit all four of his deliveries cleared the boundary rope, the longest of which travelled 83 meters, ensuring his place at the top of the leader board.

The rules of Super Sixes are simple. Each team will nominate up to three batsmen to face a total of twelve balls delivered by a bowling machine. As a warm up, each player will receive two practice balls. The winner of each challenge will be the player who hits the longest six as measured by Hawk Eye, and will receive a prize of Rs 1 lakh.

All Super Sixes challenges will be played on the pitch that was used in the preceding IPL game. Each of the nine IPL teams will take part in one of the Super Sixes challenges.

At the end of the season, the title of the 'IPL`s longest hitter' will be presented to the player who hit the longest six in the Super Sixes challenges, and will win the grand amount of Rs 5 lakh.

The remaining Super Sixes challenges are scheduled to take place as follows:

• 24/04/2012 in Pune - Pune Warriors India and Delhi Daredevils

• 06/05/2012 in Mumbai - Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings

• 13/05/2012 in Jaipur - Rajasthan Royals

• 20/05/2012 in Hyderabad - Deccan Chargers and Royal Challengers Bangalore.


First Published: Monday, April 16, 2012, 15:31



Post your Comments

Place :
Email :
Comments :

Most liked Comments

Teams Profile  
Other News  
Points Tally Full Points Table..»
Team P W L RR Points
Delhi Daredevils 16 11 5 0.617 22
Kolkata Knight Riders 16 10 5 0.561 21
Mumbai Indians 16 10 6 -0.1 20
Chennai Super Kings 16 8 7 0.1 17
Pic Gallery  
Players and support staff of Kolkata Knight Riders celebrate with the trophy after their win against Chennai Super Kings' in the Indian Premier League (IPL) final cricket match in Chennai.
Slideshow More Slideshow..»
Top performers of IPL 5

Copyright © Zee Media Corporation Ltd. All rights reserved