Pune vs Mumbai: As it happened...

Zeenews Sports Bureau

Pune Warriors India got off to a winning start in the Indian Premier League after beating Mumbai Indians by 28 runs in their own backyard on Friday.

Over 19.4 Dinda trapped Harbhajan before the wicket and increased his tally to four wickets.

Harbhajan lbw b Dinda 16(15) [4s-2]

Over 18.5 Malinga c Uthappa b Parnell 5(3) [4s-1]

Over 17.3 Franklin tried to pull a short ball from Dinda but managed a top edge.

Franklin c Ferguson b Dinda 32(42) [4s-1]

Live Score: Mumbai Vs Pune »

Over 15.6 Rahul Sharma clean bowled Pollard to put an extra pressure on Mumbai. Pitched on leg and middle, turned across and went on to hit the middle stump.

Pollard b Rahul Sharma 8(11)

Over 12.2 A quicker delivery from Samuels uprooted Suryakumar's off stump. End of over 13 Mumbai were 65/5.

Suryakumar b Marlon Samuels 0(4)

Over 10.5 Murali Kartik dropped it short when he saw the batsman coming down the track. Dinesh Karthik missed it and was stumped by Uthappa.

Dinesh Karthik st Uthappa b Kartik 32(32) [4s-4 6s-1]

End of over 10 (4 runs) Mumbai Indians 48/3 (RR: 4.80, RRR: 8.20)

Over 1.6 Rohit Sharma chased a wide delivery off Dinda, got an outside edge to the keeper. Mumbai were 7/3 after 3 overs.

Rohit Sharma c Uthappa b Dinda 1(6)

Over 1.1Dinda struck in the first ball as Rayudu found a thick outside edge. The ball landed straight into the hands of Kartik at first slip.

Rayudu c Kartik b Dinda 1(2)

Over 0.2 Kartik strikes to remove Levi early. Spun across the bat after pitching on leg and beat the batsman. Uthappa whipped the bails off in a lightning pace behind the wicket.

Levi st Uthappa b Kartik 0(2)

Pune Warriors innings

Mumbai Indians restricted Pune Warriors to a paltry 129/9 in 20 overs in an Indian Premier League match at the Wankhede stadium on Friday.

Mumbai players were brilliant on the field and the match saw two run outs. For Pune, Steven Smith top scored with 39 runs. Mumbai captain Harbhajan Singh got everything right from the start including the toss. He used his bowlers cleverly to put pressure on the opponents from the word go.

They managed the first breakthrough in the first over, thanks to Malinga. He was the most economical among the Mumbai bowlers. He later took another and became the highest wicket-taker in the history of IPL in the process.

Over 19.2 Munaf Patel put a full stop to a decent innings by Steven Smith.

Steven Smith c Pollard b Munaf Patel 39(32) [4s-4]

Over 17.2 Pragyan Ojha joined the wicket takers' list after sending back Kumar to the pavillion.

Bhuvneshwar b Ojha 2(4)

Over 16.2 A typical Malinga delivery from Malinga uprooted Samuels' stumps. Samuels tried to hit a yorker through off side but missed it.

Marlon Samuels b Malinga 4(4)

End of over 16 (9 runs) Pune Warriors 100/5 (RR: 6.25)

Over 15.1 Change of pace from Kieron Pollard did the trick for Mumbai. Uthappa tried to slog a slow delivery from Pollard but got a top edge, went up high in the air and landed safely in the bowler's hands. Severe blow for Pune's hopes of making a decent total.

Uthappa c and b Pollard 36(33) [4s-3]

Robin Uthappa stood firm at one end while wickets tumbled at other end. Pune Warriors were 70/4 at the end of 12 overs.

End of over 10 (3 runs) Pune Warriors 51/4 (RR: 5.10)

Over 8.4 Ferguson walked back to the pavillion after a run out, courtsey Rohit Sharma. Ferguson tried for a quick single driving towards cover but found a brilliant Rohit Sharma there, who aimed the stumps and hit it directly.

Ferguson run out (Rohit Sharma) 12(13) [4s-1]

End of over 8 (6 runs) Pune Warriors 40/3 (RR: 5.00).

Over 4.5 Munaf Patel removed Wayne Parnell to push Pune into further misery. Parnell trying for a drive towards off managed an edge onto the stumps. Pune 27/3 after five overs.

Parnell b Munaf Patel 11(14) [4s-2]

Over 3.4 Ganguly danced down the track off Harbhajan and missed by miles. Dinesh Karthik did not make any mistake behind the wicket.

Ganguly st Dinesh Karthik b Harbhajan 3(6)

Over 0.5 Malinga cleaned up Manish Pandey. Pune lost the first wicket with no runs on board. After four dot balls, Pandey went for a wild slog in the fifth and ended up losing the middle stump.
Manish Pandey b Malinga 0(5)

Mumbai Indians captain Harbhajan Singh won the toss and decided to field first against Pune Warriors in an IPL match at the Wankhede Stadium on Friday.

Mumbai Indians were handicapped by the absence of Sachin Tendulkar owing to a finger injury. Suryakumar Yadav replaced him. Munaf Patel has also booked a spot in the playing eleven.

Callum Ferguson, Marlon Samuels, Steven Smith and Wayne Parnell completed Pune Warriors' overseas players line-up.

Quick facts

Both the teams faced each other twice last year and Mumbai Indians emerged winners on both occasions.

In the 2011 season, Warriors had the lowest economy rate (7.23) among all teams but also had the second-lowest run-rate (7.24).

The teams (from):

Mumbai Indians: Suryakumar Yadav, Richard Levi, Ambati Rayudu, Rohit Sharma, James Franklin, Dinesh Karthik, Kieron Pollard, Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga, Munaf Patel, Pragyan Ojha.

Pune Warriors: Robin Uthappa, Sourav Ganguly, Callum Ferguson, Marlon Samuels, Manish Pandey, Steven Smith, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Wayne Parnell, Rahul Sharma, Murali Kartik, Ashok Dinda.