IPL: Mumbai Indians crush Knight Riders

Zeecric Bureau

Mumbai: Mumbai Indians lived up to the reputation of being a gargantuan force at home, beating Kolkata Knight Riders by four wickets in the IPL elimination match.

Mumbai also qualified for Champions League T20 tournament with the victory and would also advance to the next eliminator against Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Scorecard: Mumbai Indians V Kolkata Knight Riders »

Aiden Blizzard (51) was the first Mumbai Indian star to fall as he was caught in the deep by Iqbal Abdulla as the scorecard read 81/1 (7.5 Ovs). Soon after, Rohit Sharma was run out without facing a delivery due to poor running.

Mumbai had come out all guns blazing as the duo of Blizzard and Tendulkar slammed 71 runs in the first seven overs to take the opposition to the task. The former was particularly explosive as he slammed his fifty off 29 deliveries.

Shakib Al Hasan was good in his approach and Kallis was economical but the bowlers overall could not lift the game after being given an ordinary total to defend.

In the first half of the eliminator, Ryan ten Doeschate (70*) stood firm in times of adversity and helped Kolkata Knight Riders post 147/7 after a terrible crash of the batting order despite a batting friendly track.

Barring the mini cameos by Yusuf Pathan (26) and Shakib Al Hasan (26), none of the Riders rode the turf at Wankhede as Munaf Patel (3-27) tore through the batsmen, well supported by Lasith Malinga and Harbhajan Singh.

Tragedy struck in full force as the top order crumbled early, starting with opener Jacques Kallis who was caught off Munaf’s delivery at a score of 7. Then the wicket of skipper Gautam Gambhir (4) and the subsequent fall of Shreevats Goswami (0) in the next over opened the floodgates.

The initial assistance by the pitch was used to the fullest by the Mumbai bowlers and the three quick wickets were a testimony to it. Yusuf Pathan and Manoj Tiwary were the Knights who had the tough task of building a big total on their hands.

Tiwari however, could not stand-up to the task and fell to Kulkarni at a score of four runs.

Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Jacques Kallis, Shreevats Goswami(w), Gautam Gambhir(c), Manoj Tiwary, Yusuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Shakib Al Hasan, Rajat Bhatia, Brett Lee, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Iqbal Abdulla

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Sachin Tendulkar(c), Aiden Blizzard, Ambati Rayudu(w), Rohit Sharma, James Franklin, Kieron Pollard, Tirumalsetti Suman, Dhawal Kulkarni, Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga, Munaf Patel

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link