IPL spot-fixing case: Two more accused get bail

Last Updated: Thursday, October 31, 2013 - 17:44

New Delhi: Two more accused in the IPL spot- fixing case on Thursday granted interim bail by a Delhi court on grounds of "parity" with cricketers S Sreesanth, Ankeet Chavann and Ajit Chandila of Rajasthan Royals and 24 others, who are already out on bail.

Additional Sessions Judge Dharmesh Kumar Sharma released bookies Firoz Farid Ansari and Chandresh Jain alias Jupiter on bail while directing them to furnish personal bonds of Rs one lakh with surety of like amount.

It also directed the duo to surrender their passports and restrained them from leaving Delhi.

The court granted interim bail to Chandresh till November 18, as the police has sought 15 days time to file charge sheet against him in the case.

Delhi Police Special Cell had arrested Chandresh after it had already filed its first charge sheet in the case on July 30.

The police had alleged that Dawood Ibrahim and his aide Chhota Shakeel, who have been controlling the spot-fixing and betting market in cricket in India, were behind the IPL spot- fixing scandal.

Firoz has been released on interim bail till October 25.

"...Accused Firoz Farid Ansari to be granted interim bail till such time arguments are advanced on the point of charge," the court said.

On prosecution`s opposition to their release on bail, the judge said, "My hands are tied. I have already taken a view and now I cannot withhold anyone`s bail on ground of parity with others. Almost all the accused in this case are out on bail".

At present only bookie Ramesh Vyas is in jail. Nine are absconding.


First Published: Thursday, October 31, 2013 - 17:44

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 122 122 76
SHS 63 63 19
INC 42 42 -40
NCP 41 41 -21
MNS 1 1 -12
OTH 19 19 -22
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 47 47 43
INLD 19 19 -12
INC 15 15 -25
HJCBL 2 2 -4
OTH 7 7 -2
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results