This ad will auto close in 10 seconds
Indian Premier League 2016: Five moments that defined ninth edition of world's biggest T20 league

New Delhi: In almost every edition, the Indian Premier League's grand finale has gone down to the last over.

The latest one was no different with SunRisers Hyderabad pipping favorites Royal Challengers Bangalore in a thrilling contest in Bengaluru.

The last match of the season was a potent mix of stunning batting and skillful bowling, as the Chinnaswamy crowd was treated to a fitting final battle.

2016 edition of the IPL got off to a sluggish start with one-sided games and lukewarm response from fans.

But as the tournament progressed, the IPL magic was well and truly back.

As Sunday brought down the curtains on yet another season, here are five moments that defined it.

Harsha Bhogle's sacking: The veteran commentator was unceremoniously sacked by the BCCI just days ahead of the first game. Much of the early talk was dominated by Bhogle's absence, with cricket fans severely criticizing the high-handed attitude of the Indian board.

Virat Kohli's batting: The RCB skipper raised his game to a whole new level. With four tons and 973 runs, the 27-year-old sealed the Orange Cap even before the last game was played. Even a split webbing could not prevent Virat from piling on the runs.

David Warner's leadership: The SRH skipper was the unstoppable force behind SRH's march to the title. Apart from scoring heavily at the top, the left-hander marshaled his troops astutely. The Australian delivered when it mattered most, including in Qualifier 2 and the final.

MS Dhoni's finishing: Mahi may have failed to inspire the Pune Supergiants in their first season, but he definitely rolled back the clock on a couple of occasions. Dhoni's brutal knock against KXIP, scoring 23 off the final over from Axar Patel was one of the highlights of the tournament.

SRH's death bowling: Mustafizur further cemented his reputation as a fine young player, while Bhuvi's resurgence was heartening. The duo held SRH's attacking together even after Nehra's ouster. They compensated for the team's below par batting performances with accurate death bowling.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Mumbai Indians

May 21  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant by 1 run


May 19  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets with 33 balls remaining

IPL 2017 Points Table

TEAMS MP Won Lost Pts
MI 14 10 4 20
RPS 14 9 5 18
SRH 14 8 5 17
KKR 14 8 5 16
KXIP 14 7 7 14
DD 14 6 8 12
GL 14 4 10 8
RCB 14 3 10 7


1 David Warner
2 Gautam Gambhir
KKR | 498 Runs
3 Shikhar Dhawan
SRH | 479 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
26 Wickets
2 Jaydev Unadkat
RPS | 24 Wickets
3 Jasprit Bumrah
MI | 20 Wickets