This ad will auto close in 10 seconds
Indian Premier League 2016: Gautam Gambhir fined for kicking chair; Virat Kohli for slow over rate

New Delhi: Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) skipper Gautam Gambhir has been fined 15 percent of his match fees for kicking a chair during a match against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the ninth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

The incident happened in the penultimate over of the innings, when Suryakumar Yadav swept a ball for a boundary, bringing down the equation to two runs off eight balls. Gambhir knew his team had pulled off an emphatic win as he kicked a chair in the dugout.

The Delhi batsman possibly let out his frustration on the chair after he was wrongly adjudged lbw while batting on 37.

On the other hand, RCB skipper Virat Kohli has been imposed a fine of Rs 24 lakh due to slow over-rate for second time.

Kohli has now paid a total fine of Rs 36 lakh having already been fined Rs 12 lakh for an earlier offence of slow over-rate and the penalty was doubled as it was the second time that his bowlers failed to mainatain over-rate.

According to an IPL media release: "Gautam Gambhir from the Kolkata Knight Riders team was fined 15% of his match fee for breaching the VIVO Indian Premier League (IPL) Code of Conduct during his team's match against Royal Challengers Bangalore at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Monday.

"Gambhir admitted the Level 1 offence (Article 2.1.8) of abuse of cricket equipment or clothing, ground equipment or fixtures and fittings during a match. For Level 1 breaches of the IPL Code of Conduct, the Match Referee's decision is final and binding."

(With PTI inputs)

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Mumbai Indians

May 21  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant by 1 run


May 19  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets with 33 balls remaining

IPL 2017 Points Table

Teams MP Won Lost Pts
MI 14 10 4 20
RPS 14 9 5 18
SRH 14 8 5 17
KKR 14 8 5 16
KXIP 14 7 7 14
DD 14 6 8 12
GL 14 4 10 8
RCB 14 3 10 7


1 David Warner
2 Gautam Gambhir
KKR | 498 Runs
3 Shikhar Dhawan
SRH | 479 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
26 Wickets
2 Jaydev Unadkat
RPS | 24 Wickets
3 Jasprit Bumrah
MI | 20 Wickets