This ad will auto close in 10 seconds
Indian Premier League 9: Has Andre Russell surpassed Chris Gayle as T20 cricket's most dominant force?

New Delhi: West Indian all-rounder Andre Russell has become one of the most vital cogs for Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR).

Since the beginning of the ninth edition of the tournament, Russell has been in sublime form, where apart from scoring 149 runs at quick pace, he has also bagged 13 wickets.

Not long ago, Chris Gayle was the most dominant force in the shortest format of the game.

But this year, the left-hander has looked mere a shadow of himself in the IPL, where he has scored just eight runs from the three matches he has played so far. While he missed out on few matches as he flew back home to attend the birth of his first child, the team management also dropped him for a few matches keeping in mind his rough patch.

While RCB have played seven matches thus far this season, Gayle has featured only in three of them.

Russell is also emerging out as one of the finest all-rounders in world cricket. While Chris Morris is another exciting prospect, Russell's consistency in all departments is something which separates him from the rest.

Apart from hitting the ball a long way, Russell is not only a fantastic death bowler, but also someone who pulls off outstanding catches on the field.

Keeping all this in mind, wouldn't it be right to conclude that he has become the most dominant force in T20 cricket?

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Mumbai Indians

May 21  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant by 1 run


May 19  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets with 33 balls remaining

IPL 2017 Points Table

TEAMS MP Won Lost Pts
MI 14 10 4 20
RPS 14 9 5 18
SRH 14 8 5 17
KKR 14 8 5 16
KXIP 14 7 7 14
DD 14 6 8 12
GL 14 4 10 8
RCB 14 3 10 7


1 David Warner
2 Gautam Gambhir
KKR | 498 Runs
3 Shikhar Dhawan
SRH | 479 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
26 Wickets
2 Jaydev Unadkat
RPS | 24 Wickets
3 Jasprit Bumrah
MI | 20 Wickets