This ad will auto close in 10 seconds
Indian Premier League 2016: RCB vs KXIP - Can Mitchell Johnson halt AB de Villiers, Virat Kohli's run-scoring spree?

New Delhi: Keeping in mind the way Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers have batted in the last two matches, Kings XI Punjab need to come up with something extremely special in order to stop the duo's incredible run-scoring spree today.

Punjab don't have a star-studded batting line-up, and with most players struggling to find form, the team management could bring back Mitchell Johnson for today's match, considering the speedster has a reputation of being a world class bowler.

He might himself not be in the best of form, but having been benched for a while, Johnson would be keen to terrorise batsmen with his pace and bounce.

Few days ago, Speaking to, the 34-year-old said he wasn't settled in for the first two weeks coming into the tournament.

“It took two weeks to get the real desire,” Johnson said.

“I thought I had it, I felt really good with the ball in my hand, but I probably wasn’t quite there until two weeks into the tournament.”

But the speedster said that he was now itching to play and was also bowling at his best to his team-mates in the nets.

"I didn't really get into the contest at the start of this tournament.

That's where I've noticed a difference two weeks in, I've got into the contest in the nets, just need to get out there and play," he said.

Kohli and AB have added 344 runs in the last two matches without being dismissed.

They both are in sensational form and Punjab bowlers will have to bowl out of their skins to prevent another carnage.

Punjab, who are ranked eighth in the points table, recently suffered two more blows as Glenn Maxwell as well as Marcus Stoinis have headed home.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Mumbai Indians

May 21  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant by 1 run


May 19  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets with 33 balls remaining

IPL 2017 Points Table

Teams MP Won Lost Pts
MI 14 10 4 20
RPS 14 9 5 18
SRH 14 8 5 17
KKR 14 8 5 16
KXIP 14 7 7 14
DD 14 6 8 12
GL 14 4 10 8
RCB 14 3 10 7


1 David Warner
2 Gautam Gambhir
KKR | 498 Runs
3 Shikhar Dhawan
SRH | 479 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
26 Wickets
2 Jaydev Unadkat
RPS | 24 Wickets
3 Jasprit Bumrah
MI | 20 Wickets