This ad will auto close in 10 seconds
Indian Premier League 9: After struggling for years, Delhi Daredevils find rhythm under Rahul Dravid's watchful eyes

New Delhi: When they suffered a thumping nine-wicket defeat against Kolkata Knight Riders in their opening game of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2016, many thought the ninth edition was the start of yet another miserable season for the Delhi Daredevils (DD).

It was a shocking start for the franchise, after they invested heavily in buying youngsters at the auction earlier this year. To bring the team's fortunes back on track, DD also roped in a new skipper in Zaheer Khan and a reputed mentor in Rahul Dravid.

But after that one loss, Dravid, who along with Paddy Upton, turned the now suspended Rajasthan Royals into one of the most exciting franchises of the tournament, changed the fortunes of the Delhi franchise as well.

After losing the first game, Delhi won four out of their next five matches, and are now currently ranked at second position in the points table.

While the franchise has talented youngsters in Quinton de Kock, Sanju Samson and Shreyas Iyer, it also has experienced campaigners in Zaheer Khan and Pravin Tambe. Not to forget, they probably have two of the finest all-rounders in Chris Morris and Carlos Brathwaite, who have chipped in with significant performances so far in the tournament.

Under Dravid, Rajasthan Royals unearthed some real gems in Sanju Samson and Pravin Tamble. The Wall, who is also Team India's U-19 coach, loves to spend a lot of time with youngsters.

And now that he is surrounded by plenty of them as the mentor of a new franchise, Delhi Daredevils have the best chance of winning their maiden IPL title this year.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Mumbai Indians

May 21  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant by 1 run


May 19  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets with 33 balls remaining

IPL 2017 Points Table

TEAMS MP Won Lost Pts
MI 14 10 4 20
RPS 14 9 5 18
SRH 14 8 5 17
KKR 14 8 5 16
KXIP 14 7 7 14
DD 14 6 8 12
GL 14 4 10 8
RCB 14 3 10 7


1 David Warner
2 Gautam Gambhir
KKR | 498 Runs
3 Shikhar Dhawan
SRH | 479 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
26 Wickets
2 Jaydev Unadkat
RPS | 24 Wickets
3 Jasprit Bumrah
MI | 20 Wickets