This ad will auto close in 10 seconds
Indian Premier League: How Mumbai Indians defeated Chennai Super Kings to win second title in 2015

New Delhi: The rivalry between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings has been a highlight of the Indian Premier League since the inception of the tournament.

Both teams comprise of world class cricketers, who are determined to give their 100 percent every time they hit the field.

In a summit clash, Rohit Sharma and his boys thrashed CSK in the final of the tournament last year to win their second title.

Batting first, Mumbai got off to a poor start as Parthiv Patel was run-out in the first over of the innings. But Lendl Simmons (68) and skipper Rohit Sharma (50) stitched a formidable 119-run stand for the second wicket as the Chennai bowlers failed to trouble these two batsmen.

After losing both these batsmen at the score of 120, Kieron Pollard and Ambati Rayudu accelerated the pace of the innings with a quick 71-run stand for the fourth wicket.

By the end of 20 overs, Mumbai had posted a formidable total of 202 runs on board.

In reply, after getting off to a slow start, CSK lost the wicket of Michael Hussey, who was dismissed by McClenaghan in the fifth over of the innings.

Dwayne Smith (57) and Suresh Raina (28) added 66 runs for the second wicket, but once the West Indian was dismissed in the 12th over, Mumbai were in total control.

MS Dhoni was dismissed by Malinga for just 18 runs which was the final nail in the coffin.

McClenaghan was the pick of the Mumbai bowlers with three wickets, while Lasith Malinga and Harbhajan Singh picked two wickets apiece.

Mumbai will kick off their IPL 2016 campaign once again against MS Dhoni, who is leading a new franchise – Rising Pune Supergiants.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Mumbai Indians

May 21  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant by 1 run


May 19  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets with 33 balls remaining

IPL 2017 Points Table

TEAMS MP Won Lost Pts
MI 14 10 4 20
RPS 14 9 5 18
SRH 14 8 5 17
KKR 14 8 5 16
KXIP 14 7 7 14
DD 14 6 8 12
GL 14 4 10 8
RCB 14 3 10 7


1 David Warner
2 Gautam Gambhir
KKR | 498 Runs
3 Shikhar Dhawan
SRH | 479 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
26 Wickets
2 Jaydev Unadkat
RPS | 24 Wickets
3 Jasprit Bumrah
MI | 20 Wickets