This ad will auto close in 10 seconds
Indian Premier League: Maharashtra derby promises a cracker as batsmen look to make merry at the Wankhede

New Delhi: As the season 9 of the Indian Premier League kicks off, the opening match couldn't have been bigger. It's the Maharashtra derby with Mumbai Indians taking on new outfit Rising Pune Supergiants at the Wankhede.

With plenty of batters in both sides, a run feast is expected at the Wankhede. The Mumbai pitch will have plenty in for the batsmen as seen in the recently concluded ICC World Twenty20.

Defending champions Mumbai Indians will be riding on Rohit Sharma and Lendl Simmons exploits at the top. As Kieron Pollard and Jos Buttler could light up the show down the order.

A good start could be the way forward for MI as they will want to start in a positive note at their own backyard.

Rising Pune Supergiants one of the two new entrants this season, will be interesting to watch given how the side comes out and performs especially given their first game as a side. Steve Smith, Kevin Pietersen and MS Dhoni hold the key to the side's crucial moments in the game.

The team batting second will have an edge given the dew factor and that was consistently seen in the World T20. So both teams will be eyeing for a big score with the batsmen in their kitty and hold their nerves in the crucial time.

With Maharashtra reeling under drought amidst water shortage, this could turn out to be the only game to be played in the state as the Bombay HC will be making a final decision on April 12. The Maharashtra government meanwhile stated on Friday that even if matches are shifted out of the state, it doesn't matter as water is more important than cricket.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Mumbai Indians

May 21  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant by 1 run


May 19  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets with 33 balls remaining

IPL 2017 Points Table

TEAMS MP Won Lost Pts
MI 14 10 4 20
RPS 14 9 5 18
SRH 14 8 5 17
KKR 14 8 5 16
KXIP 14 7 7 14
DD 14 6 8 12
GL 14 4 10 8
RCB 14 3 10 7


1 David Warner
2 Gautam Gambhir
KKR | 498 Runs
3 Shikhar Dhawan
SRH | 479 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
26 Wickets
2 Jaydev Unadkat
RPS | 24 Wickets
3 Jasprit Bumrah
MI | 20 Wickets