This ad will auto close in 10 seconds
Indian Premier League: We were treated like gods while playing for Chennai Super Kings, says Suresh Raina

New Delhi: Now that Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have been suspended from the Indian Premier League (IPL) for two years, several key players from the multiple champions will be playing for other franchises in the ninth edition of the tournament.

Speaking to The Times of India, Suresh Raina, the lynchpin of the CSK batting line-up, said that the team management treated the players like superstars and gods.

"Yes, now it's like moving into a different world. We were superstars in Chennai and to understand what I'm saying, one had to be there to see it. It was almost like a different cult, a different religion and we were treated like gods," said Raina, who will be leading Gujarat Lions this year.

The left-handed batsman said that after playing for CSK for eight years, it wasn't an easy task to adjust playing for a new franchise.

"It's not been easy and it's not going to be easy on us (CSK bunch) anytime soon either. It's like leaving one family and going to another. No matter how much love you get in this new family , how can you let go of all the love you received from the Chennai family . The city had become a second home to all of us," he said.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who took CSK's performance to a different level under his captaincy, will be leading the Rising Pune Super Giants this year.

The IPL will kick of on April 9 with the first match scheduled to be played between defending champions Mumbai Indians and Rising Super Giants.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Mumbai Indians

May 21  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant by 1 run


May 19  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets with 33 balls remaining

IPL 2017 Points Table

TEAMS MP Won Lost Pts
MI 14 10 4 20
RPS 14 9 5 18
SRH 14 8 5 17
KKR 14 8 5 16
KXIP 14 7 7 14
DD 14 6 8 12
GL 14 4 10 8
RCB 14 3 10 7


1 David Warner
2 Gautam Gambhir
KKR | 498 Runs
3 Shikhar Dhawan
SRH | 479 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
26 Wickets
2 Jaydev Unadkat
RPS | 24 Wickets
3 Jasprit Bumrah
MI | 20 Wickets