This ad will auto close in 10 seconds
IPL 2016: Delhi Daredevils, Preview: Team now has firepower to win maiden title

New Delhi: At the IPL auction earlier this year, the think tank of the Delhi franchise focused on buying young talent for the team. While the other teams went for big names, Daredevils bought players, who weren't too old and could contribute for the team for a longer period.

While the team has many young players, they also have a formidable skipper in Zaheer Khan, former Indian speedster who can mentor the team with his huge experience.

In Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson and Rishabh Pant, Delhi have some of the best young batsmen in the tournament. The big names include JP Duminy, Travis Head, Quinton de Kock and Carlos Brathwaite.

Since the inception of the Indian Premier League, Daredevils have disappointed the fans, despite having quality players at their disposal. This year around, the team would want to put a good show and win their maiden title.

Captain: Zaheer Khan

Coach: Paddy Upton

Best performance: 2012 Playoffs, 2008, 2009 Semi-finalist

Squad: Zaheer Khan, Amit Mishra, Shreyas Iyer, Mohammad Shami, Saurabh Tiwary, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mayank Agarwal, Jayant Yadav, Travis Head, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Imran Tahir, JP Duminy, Albie Morkel, Quinton de Kock, Pawan Negi, Chris Morris, Sanju Samson, Carlos Brathwaite, Karun Nair, Rishabh Pant, Joel Paris, Sam Billings, Chama Milind, Pratyush Singh, Mahipal Lomror, Saeed Khaleel Ahmed, Akhil Herwadkar, Pawan Suyal.

Players to watch out for: Zaheer Khan, Shreyas Iyer, Mohammad Shami, JP Duminy, Chris Morris

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Mumbai Indians

May 21  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant by 1 run


May 19  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets with 33 balls remaining

IPL 2017 Points Table

TEAMS MP Won Lost Pts
MI 14 10 4 20
RPS 14 9 5 18
SRH 14 8 5 17
KKR 14 8 5 16
KXIP 14 7 7 14
DD 14 6 8 12
GL 14 4 10 8
RCB 14 3 10 7


1 David Warner
2 Gautam Gambhir
KKR | 498 Runs
3 Shikhar Dhawan
SRH | 479 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
26 Wickets
2 Jaydev Unadkat
RPS | 24 Wickets
3 Jasprit Bumrah
MI | 20 Wickets