This ad will auto close in 10 seconds
IPL 2016: Huge losses in revenue for Delhi Daredevils' owners - Here's why!

New Delhi: Delhi Daredevils side may have turned its fortunes for the better on the pitch, but the same cannot be said about those off it.

According to a report in the Times of India, 42% in attendance at the Feroz Shah Kotla have been free-ticket holders this term. This due to the capital's culture of asking for complimentary passes, leading to huge losses for GMR (owners).

While the franchise generated somewhere between Rs 4 to 5 crore from sale of tickets three years ago, the number has now come down around to Rs 2 to Rs 2.5 crore. 

As per rules, 20% of tickets are handed to BCCI. However, DD in addition have to give out 22% for central and state government agencies as well.

“The accounted number works out to be 15,750 free passes. But the unaccounted bit of free passes should be more than 17,000,“ a source told TOI on Thursday .

“Delhi's team is constantly requested and pressurized to hand over tickets. The franchise is also made to pay tax for those free tickets distributed to spectators in Delhi,“ said a source.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Live Score Card

Rising Pune Supergiant
Kolkata Knight Riders
Match begins at 20:00 IST (14:30 GMT)

Royal Challengers Bangalore
Gujarat Lions
April 27, 2017 20:00 IST

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Kolkata Knight Riders

April 26  20:00 IST
Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium

Royal Challengers Bangalore Vs Gujarat Lions

April 27  20:00 IST
M Chinnaswamy Stadium

Royal Challengers Bangalore Vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

April 25  20:00 IST
Match abandoned due to rain

Mumbai Indians Vs Rising Pune Supergiant

April 24  20:00 IST
Rising Pune Supergiant defeat Mumbai Indians by 3 runs

IPL 2017 Points Table

Teams MP Won Lost Pts
MI 8 6 2 12
KKR 7 5 2 10
SRH 8 4 3 9
RPS 7 4 3 8
KXIP 7 3 4 6
DD 6 2 4 4
RCB 8 2 5 5
GL 7 2 4 4


1 Hashim Amla
2 David Warner
SRH | 282 Runs
3 Suresh Raina
GL | 275 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
16 Wickets
2 Chris Morris
DD | 12 Wickets
3 Mitchell McClenaghan
MI | 12 Wickets