This ad will auto close in 10 seconds
IPL 2016, Match 43: MI vs KXIP - Players to watch out for

New Delhi: Mumbai Indians take on Kings XI Punjab in Match 43 of the Indian Premier League on Friday.

While Murali Vijay's side has nothing but pride to play for, Rohit Sharma's men will be looking forward to taking another important step towards the play-offs.

Mumbai are of course the clear favorites on paper and any other result than a win for them will be considered as a huge upset.

While KXIP are capable of outplaying any side on their day, their players appear to be distracted with unwanted controversies off the field.

The defending champions capped off an easy win against RCB in their last outing, while KXIP suffered a heartbreaking 1-run defeat against the same opposition.

Both teams boast of some big-match players in their ranks. Here is are two that can make all the difference when it matters most.

Murali Vijay (KXIP): Skipper Vijay has been the driving force in the batting department for the IPL laggards. In 10 matches, the stylish right-hander has accumulated 310 runs. The Tamil Nadu batsman played a glorious 89-run knock to almost take his team to a win against RCB. Vijay's presence at the top of the order brings a calming influence to the KXIP innings. The 32-year-old is in fact the complete package up to with technique, temperament and experience in his armory.

Kieron Pollard (MI): The West Indian all-round is a key member of the Mumbai Indians side. If Pollard fires, MI do well. The 29-year-old has shown flashes of brilliance in the tournament but is yet to make a major impact. The good thing for Mumbai is that they have fared reasonably well despite the lukewarm performances from Pollard. As the tournament approaches its business end, Rohit Sharma will be hoping his star players finds his mojo against KXIP.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Live Score Card

Mumbai Indians Vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

May 1  16:00 IST
Wankhede Stadium

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Gujarat Lions

May 1  20:00 IST
Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium

Sunrisers Hyderabad Vs Kolkata Knight Riders

April 30  20:00 IST
Sunrisers Hyderabad won by 48 runs

Kings XI Punjab Vs Delhi Daredevils

April 30  16:00 IST
Kings XI Punjab won by 10 wickets with 73 balls remaining

IPL 2017 Points Table

Teams MP Won Lost Pts
KKR 10 7 3 14
MI 9 7 2 14
SRH 10 6 3 13
RPS 9 5 4 10
KXIP 9 4 5 8
GL 9 3 5 6
RCB 10 2 7 5
DD 8 2 6 4


1 David Warner
2 Gautam Gambhir
KKR | 387 Runs
3 Robin Uthappa
KKR | 384 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
20 Wickets
2 Imran Tahir
RPS | 13 Wickets
3 Andrew Tye
GL | 12 Wickets