IPL 2016 Opening Ceremony – As it happened...

The captains took the MCC Spirit of Cricket Pledge, while entertainers kept the crowd at The Dome occupied with their gigs.

IPL 2016 Opening Ceremony – As it happened...
Photo Courtesy: Twitter

The season nine of Indian Premier League (IPL) officially kick-off on Friday with an elaborate opening ceremony in the presence of eight captains and tournament chairman and BCCI secretary in Mumbai.

The captains took the MCC Spirit of Cricket Pledge, while entertainers kept the crowd at The Dome at SVP Stadium occupied with their gigs.


Prominent among those who performed were Bollywood siren Katrina Kaif, West Indies all-rounder, all-rounder Dwanye Bravo with his 'Champion' act, Bollywood heartthrob Ranveer Singh, desi rapper Yo Yo Honey Singh and world famous electronic music group Major Lazer.

And that's just about it. Real action starts tomorrow though!

A short do from Shweta Pandit, and the previously arrived gang. Before the light and sound show. Lazers will Do... Jillionaire is masterclass. Chris Brown was invisible.

Oh, that's not the end from the actor. His introduction to Major Lazer and him calling out Honey Singh, Jacqueline, Katrina and Bravo was energetic. Then, they all do the Champion Dance once again.

Ranveer was somehow introduced as show-stopper. Except his studded gear, nothing hardly glittered. He performed on Goliyon Ki Rasleela', 'Tattad Tattad', 'Tune Maari Entriyaan' and 'Gallan Goodiyaan.

Up next will be Lazer show.

Bollywood actor has adopted an acronym for himself. RS, in short, and he has converted the stage into a makeshift cricket field, with plenty more fielders to put in good use. Ball retrieving errands. That cricket act, was followed by a song from Ram Lila.

Ranveer Singh is the next performer.

And out of nowhere, David Miller who's known as Killer Miller in some circles, has become Chiller Miller. He is the captain of Kings XI Punjab, and owner Preity Zinta assured that she will not allow her South African skipper to relax a bit.

ALSO READ: IPL 9, MATCH 1 PREVIEW - Mumbai Indians vs Rising Pune Supergiants

Chaar botal Vodka, and Honey Singh into the fade, riding his miniature tank.

Indian rapper performed on his own Manali Trance, Dham Dham, Love Dose...

Today, his performances are more of sufiana than rap. Heavy dose of trance and hallucinating lighting.

Yo Yo Honey Singh is next, riding a tank which blows smokes

Ankit Tiwari now giving company to Bravo. Hindustan main bhare pare champions...

Champions are here. DJ Bravo to rock the house. And giving him company, the real one, is Keiron Pollard, in the crowd. It's followed by 'Chalo Chalo', and with that his dancing steps.

Champions are here. DJ Bravo to rock the house.

"Afghan Jalebi" from the movie 'Phantom' is next.

And with 'Dhoom 3' track, she lit the stage. Dhoom Machale. It was followed by 'Bang Bang' title track.

Attention please! Katrina Kaif is on!

Captains, starting with Zaheer Khan, signs the pledge to uphold the spirit of the game. And it's high-tech, they are leaving the autographs on a specially made, designed white colour pad.

Here's some part of his speech:

"Fans, ladies and gentlemen. On behalf of all of us, we invite you for the ninth edition of the tournament. In today's opening ceremony, we will have Bollywood act and also international artists.

"Most important part of today's ceremony in terms of cricketing aspect, we will have Bravo performing for Champion. IPL is not about entertainment, it is about serious cricket. It is recognised world wide that new talents have been discovered from IPL."

"Finally, on behalf of BCCI, I thank sponsors, partners, media partners and also captains."

Shukla welcomed everyone and reiterated that this year, the season 9 will be the biggest. He talked about real cricket, with matches going all the way to the last over. He also spelled out the three big changes or introductions being brought it. And most  importantly, he on the behalf of BCCI and IPL, gave assurance that they will do everything to help the farmers who are facing drought.

Shastri then called out IPL chairman Rajeev Shukla, Anurag Thakur -- BCCI secretary.

First out is Zaheer Khan for Delhi Daredevils, and last Rohit Sharma, skipper Mumbai Indians. He put the trophy back, understandly.

Time for MCC Spirit of Cricket pledge with the eight team captains, and introducing them are Ravi Shastri, who just ended his Team Director's role with India.

Samir Kochhar, the roaming host, interacts with Mumbai Indians -- the defending champions. Hardik Pandya, Parthiv Patel, Keiron Pollard, the superman of yore Jonty Rhodes, who said he can;'t land anymore, then Ricky Ponting and Harbhajan Singh...

Captains selfie

Next performance from Kings United dance group, with an extended prelude from an ensemble of traditional percussionists. That's some show from the so called world champions of dancing games.

The first act, from Bahraini-Sri Lankan actress Jacqueline ended with another gig to the tunes of 'Race 2' and 'Roy'.

In between

First on the stage is Jacqueline Fernandez wearing thigh high boots, black top and leather skirt, performing to the tunes of Salman starrer Kicks' title track.

So thus Aussie spin hope, Adam Zampa

A certain David Miller is extra curious?

Captains in customary gathering/ briefing ahead of the opening ceremony

Moments into the show. Expect a glittering show with an ensemble of international stars, and laser show.

Star attractions: Chris Brown, Major Lazer, Ranveer Singh, Katrina Kaif, Jacqueline Fernandez, Yo Yo Honey Singh, TBC, Major Lazer, Kings United dance group, etc.

The ninth installment of possibly world's greatest cricket carnival will start with a heavy dose of song and dance routine, a la bollywood style. There will be head-turners, there will be crooners, and there will be champions.

ALSO READ: All about IPL opening ceremony

Yea, that brought us to a certain Dwane Bravo, and his 'Champions' number. The West Indies all-rounder is expected to be the special attraction, with his 'Champion Dance'.

Besides hosts of international stars, captains of each side will be present during the ceremony along with who's who of Indian cricket.

Welcome to our Indian Premier League 2016 opening ceremony live blog.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link