This ad will auto close in 10 seconds
IPL 2016, Qualifier 2: SRH vs GL - Second opportunity for Suresh Raina & Co to book final berth

New Delhi: After suffering a heart-breaking four-wicket defeat against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in Qualifier 1 of IPL 2016, Suresh Raina-led Gujarat Lions (GL) have another chance of making it to the final as they take on Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in Qualifier 2 today.

Despite it being their maiden tournament, Suresh Raina-led Gujarat Lions became a force to reckon with in the tournament with the way they performed in the ninth edition.

With world class players at their disposal, the Lions gave a tough fight to the established franchises and ended up in the top four teams at the end of league stage.

But in Qualifier 1, they failed to click as a unit as RCB stunned them by snatching victory from the jaws of defeat.

Chasing a modest total of 158 runs, RCB were stuttering at 6/68, before AB de Villiers (79*) and Iqbal Abdullah (33*) stitched an unbeaten match-winning 91-run stand for the seventh-wicket partnership.

Not in their wildest dreams would the Lions have imagined that they will lose the match after such an incredible start.

They would want to learn from their mistakes and put up a good show against Hyderabad, who comprehensively knocked out two-time IPL champions Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) from the tournament.

As the tournament is all set to get a new champion this year, it remains to be seen whether Lions can make it to the final - what would be an outstanding achievement in their maiden appearance.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Mumbai Indians

May 21  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant by 1 run


May 19  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets with 33 balls remaining

IPL 2017 Points Table

TEAMS MP Won Lost Pts
MI 14 10 4 20
RPS 14 9 5 18
SRH 14 8 5 17
KKR 14 8 5 16
KXIP 14 7 7 14
DD 14 6 8 12
GL 14 4 10 8
RCB 14 3 10 7


1 David Warner
2 Gautam Gambhir
KKR | 498 Runs
3 Shikhar Dhawan
SRH | 479 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
26 Wickets
2 Jaydev Unadkat
RPS | 24 Wickets
3 Jasprit Bumrah
MI | 20 Wickets