This ad will auto close in 10 seconds
IPL 2016: Ratnakar Shetty writes to Mumbai Indians, Kings XI Punjab seeking drinking water for drought-affected areas

New Delhi: Indian Premier League (IPL) Chief Operating Officer (COO) Ratnakar Shetty has written a letter to franchises Mumbai Indians, Kings XI Punjab and Sunrisers Hyderabad asking whether they would be willing to provide drinking water to the drought hit state.

According to a report in CNN IBN, the Mumbai franchise has agreed to provide potable water to the drought-affected areas.

A confirmation is expected from the other two franchises before the hearing resumes today.

On Tuesday, hearing a PIL against the hosting of IPL matches in Maharashtra, the court asked the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to consider shifting the matches out of state, while seeking reply from the board by next hearing scheduled to be held today.

The High Court also asked the BCCI if they could provide 40 lakh litres of water that they had used earlier to the drought-affected areas.

The BCCI, however, insisted before the court that they would use recycled sewage water for pitches for the 17 IPL matches to be held in Mumbai and Pune.

According to the Mumbai Cricket Association's (MCA) lawyer, the treated sewage water will be supplied by the Royal Western India Turf Club (RWITF), which will in turn be helpful in tackling water crisis without using potable water.

Earlier, a Public Interest Litigation (PIL) filed by NGO Loksatta Movement and others stated that as much as 60 lakh litres of water is proposed to be used for maintaining cricket pitches in the three venues that will host the IPL matches in Maharashtra.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Mumbai Indians

May 21  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant by 1 run


May 19  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets with 33 balls remaining

IPL 2017 Points Table

TEAMS MP Won Lost Pts
MI 14 10 4 20
RPS 14 9 5 18
SRH 14 8 5 17
KKR 14 8 5 16
KXIP 14 7 7 14
DD 14 6 8 12
GL 14 4 10 8
RCB 14 3 10 7


1 David Warner
2 Gautam Gambhir
KKR | 498 Runs
3 Shikhar Dhawan
SRH | 479 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
26 Wickets
2 Jaydev Unadkat
RPS | 24 Wickets
3 Jasprit Bumrah
MI | 20 Wickets