IPL 9: How 'injured' Ashish Nehra is helping SunRisers Hyderabad bowlers!

Nehra has recently underwent a right-knee surgery in London.​

IPL 9: How 'injured' Ashish Nehra is helping SunRisers Hyderabad bowlers!

New Delhi: Almost two weeks back, SunRisers Hyderabad suffered a major blow when their spearhead bowler Ashish Nehra was ruled out of the IPL 9 with an injury. 

While Nehra underwent a right-knee surgery in London recently, the rich experience which he had shared with others seamers helped Hyderabad franchise in a big way. 

SRH bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who is currently the leading wicket in IPL 9, revealed after the virtual semi-final clash between Gujarat Lions on Friday how small suggestions by the veteran Nehra is helping him.

Bhuvneshwar, who has scalped 23 wickets in 16 games with an economy rate of 7.50, said that bowling with Nehra had helped him pick up several things about bowling.

“When you are bowling together there are little things, like how you set the field, what is the strength of which batsman and so how do you bluff him - little things like that which he talked about which has helped.

“And that is probably what I tried to help [Barinder] Sran with. I know that I can't do what he [Nehra] did with his experience. But I was trying to do and play the role that he did, ” Bhuvneshwar told iplt20.com.

Bhuvi also seems content with the way Barinder Sran has performed with the ball in the absence of Nehra.

"When I came to know that Ashish Nehra is injured, there was a bit of extra load that fell on my shoulders. However, if you see the way Sran responded to the situation was very good. He didn't let the pressure show on him after Nehra's injury," added Bhuvenshwar.

David Warner-led Hyderabad will lock horns with Royal Challengers Bangalore on Sunday in the summit clash of the League.