This ad will auto close in 10 seconds
IPL 9: RCB skipper Virat Kohli 81-run short to create history this season

New Delhi: Royal Challengers Bangalore skipper Virat Kohli is on the verge of creating IPL history in its on-going season.

If Kohli, who is going through a purple patch with the willow, scores 81 more runs this season, he would become the first man ever to score 1,000 runs in a single season of the cash-rich league.

No batsman has ever managed to reach the four-figure mark in a single IPL season. Kohli, who is the leading run-scorer in the IPL 9, has 919 runs under his thus far. And as his team has finished 2nd in the league stages to qualify for the playoffs, he will get two sure shot chances to touch the 1000-run mark.

Kohli-led RCB is all set to lock horns against Gujarat Lions on Tuesday in the Qualifier 1 at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore.

The kind of form Kohli is in, he is expected to create the record without breaking much of a sweat.

While attributing his phenomenal rise to the top of the limited-overs cricket to rigorous training, the stylish right-hander has stressed that it is pertinent to stay grounded and remain calm despite adulation and fame.

“It is very important not to get very arrogant or rude about your form or the way you are striking the ball. You will have a few incidents on the field where people will have a go at you, but after that sort of chat, you are back to basics, you are back to being normal and humble about what you want to do on the pitch. It is all about keeping that thin line between over-confidence and being confident and calm about your skill,” Kohli was quoted as saying by ANI.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Live Score Card

MI 157/8 (20.0 ov)
Rising Pune Supergiant beat Mumbai Indians by 3 runs
RPS 160/6 (20.0 ov)

Royal Challengers Bangalore
Sunrisers Hyderabad
April 25, 2017 20:00 IST

Rising Pune Supergiant
Kolkata Knight Riders
April 26, 2017 20:00 IST

Royal Challengers Bangalore Vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

April 25  20:00 IST
M Chinnaswamy Stadium

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Kolkata Knight Riders

April 26  20:00 IST
Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium

Mumbai Indians Vs Rising Pune Supergiant

April 24  20:00 IST
Rising Pune Supergiant defeat Mumbai Indians by 3 runs

Kolkata Knight Riders Vs Royal Challengers

April 23  20:00 IST
Kolkata Knight Riders won by 82 runs

IPL 2017 Points Table

Teams MP Won Lost Pts
MI 8 6 2 12
KKR 7 5 2 10
SRH 6 4 3 8
RPS 7 4 3 8
KXIP 7 3 4 6
DD 6 2 4 4
GL 7 2 4 4
RCB 7 2 5 4


1 Hashim Amla
2 David Warner
SRH | 282 Runs
3 Suresh Raina
GL | 275 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
16 Wickets
2 Chris Morris
DD | 12 Wickets
3 Mitchell McClenaghan
MI | 12 Wickets