This ad will auto close in 10 seconds
IPL 9: Rohit Sharma vows Mumbai Indians will make a strong comeback next season

New Delhi: Title holders Mumbai Indians have failed to even make it to the playoffs in the ninth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Hopes of Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai, of making it to the top four, shattered when they lost their last league game against Gujarat Lions on Saturday.

Mumbai managed to win mere seven out of their 14 games, which was not good enough for them to make their way into the playoffs. One more win would have made it for the defending champions as they are placed 5th in the points table.

After MI's poor show this season, Rohit showed a brave face and vowed that his team will make a strong comeback in the next edition of the cash-rich league.

Under Rohit, Mumbai have already won two IPL titles in 2013 and 2015.

Rohit also thanked fans for all the support and said that each and every single person had tried their best and gave everything they had, but unfortunately ended up on the losing side.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Live Score Card

MI 157/8 (20.0 ov)
Rising Pune Supergiant beat Mumbai Indians by 3 runs
RPS 160/6 (20.0 ov)

Royal Challengers Bangalore
Sunrisers Hyderabad
Match begins at 20:00 IST (14:30 GMT)

Rising Pune Supergiant
Kolkata Knight Riders
April 26, 2017 20:00 IST

Royal Challengers Bangalore Vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

April 25  20:00 IST
M Chinnaswamy Stadium

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Kolkata Knight Riders

April 26  20:00 IST
Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium

Mumbai Indians Vs Rising Pune Supergiant

April 24  20:00 IST
Rising Pune Supergiant defeat Mumbai Indians by 3 runs

Kolkata Knight Riders Vs Royal Challengers

April 23  20:00 IST
Kolkata Knight Riders won by 82 runs

IPL 2017 Points Table

Teams MP Won Lost Pts
MI 8 6 2 12
KKR 7 5 2 10
SRH 6 4 3 8
RPS 7 4 3 8
KXIP 7 3 4 6
DD 6 2 4 4
GL 7 2 4 4
RCB 7 2 5 4


1 Hashim Amla
2 David Warner
SRH | 282 Runs
3 Suresh Raina
GL | 275 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
16 Wickets
2 Chris Morris
DD | 12 Wickets
3 Mitchell McClenaghan
MI | 12 Wickets