IPL Top Ten List: AB de Villiers becomes latest to join 3000-run mark

Suresh Raina is currently the leading run-scorer in IPL history.

IPL Top Ten List: AB de Villiers becomes latest to join 3000-run mark

New Delhi: AB de Villiers became the ninth batsman and third overseas player to go past 3000 runs in the Indian Premier League. The Royal Challengers Bangalore batsman completed the milestone during their match against Gujarat Lions at M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Saturday.

Suresh Raina is currently the leading run-scorer in IPL history and Warner is currently ranked eighth, one place behind MS Dhoni.

On Thursday, Sunrisers Hyderabad captain David Warner became the eighth and second overseas player to reach the 3000-run mark, during their match against Delhi Daredevils (DD) at Hyderabad.

RCB's Chris Gayle was the first overseas player to reach the mark.

However, the list of highest run-getters in IPL is dominated by Indian batsmen. Here are the top 10 list:

1. Suresh Raina (3985 runs in 139 innings)

2. Virat Kohli (3814 runs in 126 innings)

3. Rohit Sharma (3813 runs in 136 innings)

4. Gautam Gambhir (3531 runs in 126 innings)

5. Robin Uthappa (3323 runs in 125 innings)

6. Chris Gayle (3218 runs in 86 innings)

7. MS Dhoni (3198 runs in 126 innings)

8. AB de Villiers (3108 runs in 104 innings)

9. David Warner (3040 runs in 94 innings)

10. Shikhar Dhawan (2958 in 106 innings)

Two players who are approaching new milestones are Suresh Raina, who needs 15 more runs to become the first player to accumulate 400 IPL runs.

He could have achieved the feat in today's match, but the expectant father missed the match — his first in tournament's history — to be with his wife in Netherlands to welcome the new member in their young family.

Only other player who is expected to reach the 3000-run mark this season is Shikhar Dhawan, who needs 42 runs more.

Active players who can reach the mark soon are — Yusuf Pathan, with 2628 runs in 117 innings, and Ajinkya Rahane, with 2612 in 86 innings.

By the end of RCB's innings today, Kohli replaced Rohit Sharma as the second highest run-getter in the list, and de Villiers got into the eight position, replacing Warner.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link