This ad will auto close in 10 seconds
MS Dhoni vs Virat Kohli: Two captains of contrasting hues ready for IPL face-off

New Delhi: There are previews galore, and so thus hundreds of pages on the prospects of their respective teams. That's just a brief appetiser to one of the most anticipated clashes of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2016.

When Rising Pune Supergiants play visiting Royal Challengers Bangalore today evening, it will be not just about a new team hosting an star-studded one, but also about two captains in Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Virat Kohli.

MS Dhoni, who carries an aura of invincibility as a captain might have just entered the dawn of his career, but he still is the preferred captain in this format. The 34-year-old still leads the national team in both the limited overs formats. And according to his many 'hints', captain cool is not yet done yet.

Then, if Dhoni is the choice-captain, then his Kohli is the heir apparent when it comes to national set-up. Having already given the reigns of Test cricket, Kohli now knows the bitter-sweet taste of captaincy. And mind you, he is ready to pounce on the first moment to get job, from MS Dhoni. Not blaming him. Who wouldn't want to become the national captain.

But when they meet as rival captains, it becomes all the more intriguing a battle because of the their shared history and also the obvious differences. If MS Dhoni is a leader who goes quietly doing his business on the field, then Kohli is about effervescence -- the energy, the flambouyance.

Luckily for millions of cricket fans, today's match at Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium will witness these two captains with a veritable disposal of global stars trying to outwit each other.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Mumbai Indians

May 21  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant by 1 run


May 19  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets with 33 balls remaining

IPL 2017 Points Table

TEAMS MP Won Lost Pts
MI 14 10 4 20
RPS 14 9 5 18
SRH 14 8 5 17
KKR 14 8 5 16
KXIP 14 7 7 14
DD 14 6 8 12
GL 14 4 10 8
RCB 14 3 10 7


1 David Warner
2 Gautam Gambhir
KKR | 498 Runs
3 Shikhar Dhawan
SRH | 479 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
26 Wickets
2 Jaydev Unadkat
RPS | 24 Wickets
3 Jasprit Bumrah
MI | 20 Wickets